The OP's question was actually a question on this year's MGA Quiz. The Metropolitan Golf Association is not a ruling body, but FWIW, they said no penalty.
2. In stroke play, the preceding group has left the flagstick lying on the putting green nearby the hole. A lies two just short of the putting green and B lies two on the putting green. They agree to leave the flagstick where it is as it could assist them. A’s chip shot is stopped by the flagstick but B’s putt comes up short of it. A takes one putt and B takes two more putts to complete the hole.
The result of the hole is: A) A scores 4 and B scores 5.
B) A scores 6 and B scores 7.
C) A scores 6 and B scores 5.
D) Both A and B are disqualified
#2 A D17-3/3
That's the problem with getting clubs fitted. The amount you shell out to get fitted clubs leaves you with little or no money for other things. That's why I shop ebay and avoid the high overhead which the major sporting good stores and pro shops charge you.