• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
inthehole

Completely lost a drive & it ended up on green on next hole ?!?!

25 posts in this topic

FOrtunately the course I was playing wasn't crowded & nobody was on the green on the adjacent hole.   Obviously, I didn't want to hit a 5 iron off the green to get back to my fairway.     I took a lie no closer to the hole, dropped on the fringe of the green & got it back nicely on my fairway.      How would you play and score the penalty associated with flying a drive onto a green on an adjacent hole ?     I played it OB, but could it be considered ground under repair with no penalty ?   THx

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

The rules allow you a free drop off an adjacent green, assuming it isn't marked as OB. No penalty.  That is, unless you bonk someone putting on it, then see your lawyer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And to be respectful of the course, I'd drop off the fringe so any divot is not on the fringe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a couple of notes on this.

This is a "must" under the rules.  You are not allowed to play from a wrong green.  You must take relief.

Relief from the green means the ball is on the green, if your stance is on the wrong green and the ball is not, this rule does not apply.

Although not playing from the fringe is good advice in a casual round, be aware that technically, (you're in a tournament)  the drop (ball hits the ground) must be within 1 club length from your nearest point of relief.  This may or may not get you off the fringe.

If you DO NOT take relief from a wrong putting green the penalty is loss of hole in match play, a 2 stroke penalty in stroke play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dormie's point totally valid for tourney rounds, but big second for Rustyredcab's point for every other round.  I've seen a few guys take huge divots on the fringe barely off the green.  So lame and damaging to the course.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Thanks everybody for the clarification (I'm kinda glad I'm not the only one who's done it)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had it happen on Saturday...luckily it was in a scramble and I could pick it up like it never happened :)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The rules require free relief from a foreign putting surface, no closer to the whole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no closer to the whole what? Enchilada??

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by stangmark

The rules require free relief from a foreign putting surface, no closer to the whole.

You did not mention that the relief allowed is upto one clublength from the nearest point of relief. That is important if a penalty is not to be incurred.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Done it a couple of times. Once I hit my drive like a giant pulled lobwedge on the green of the previous hole. After the drop I hit my next shot on the green of the next hole.

But also a question. What if the green is a green for training aid. I would think that's no official green. What to do if it is not out of bounds and also no local rule in place. Play as it lies?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it meets the definition of a green and is not out of bounds and is not the green in play for the hole, it is a wrong green.

ie It is specially prepared for putting or otherwise defined as such by the Committee.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Let me get this right.

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

At no penalty right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by tstrike34

Let me get this right.

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

At no penalty right?

Close but no cigar

Nearest point of relief not closer to the hole it is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by tstrike34

Let me get this right.

I hit an errant drive into another green. I have to find the point of entry and take a full length drop from the point of entry, but not closer to the hole?

At no penalty right?

Point of entry is irrelevant. You find the nearest point of relief, no closer the hole, and drop within a club length of that point.

Correct, no penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by MacDutch

Close but no cigar

Nearest point of relief not closer to the hole it is.

Originally Posted by sacm3bill

Point of entry is irrelevant. You find the nearest point of relief, no closer the hole, and drop within a club length of that point.

Correct, no penalty.

Pardon me for belaboring the issue, but based on earlier conversations that would indeed be the fringe of the green right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Almost certainly, but scenarios could arise where this isnt the case.

Also, for avoidance of doubt - not nearer the pin - this is the pin on the hole you're supposed to be playing, not the green you've ended up on!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Relief from the green means the ball is on the green, if your stance is on the wrong green and the ball is not, this rule does not apply.

So what is "full relief here", ie the ball is on the green so you take relief - ball obviously can't be on the green, can you stand on the green after relief has been taken? Obviously a big no no in a friendly game but could be an issue in a comp.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0