• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
5683Emily

Grounding Club In Sand Trap

26 posts in this topic

I have this homework I have to get all the answers to. But there is one I am having a tough time on. It is asking me: 'How do you proceed, if you grounded your club in the sand trap and what is the penalty?'. Umm, I need help ASAP. I need this answer within' a couple minutes. Please someone help me.

Thanks so much :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Originally Posted by 5683Emily

I have this homework I have to get all the answers to. But there is one I am having a tough time on. It is asking me: 'How do you proceed, if you grounded your club in the sand trap and what is the penalty?'. Umm, I need help ASAP. I need this answer within' a couple minutes. Please someone help me.

Thanks so much :)


Match play you lose the hole

Stroke play 2 stroke penalty

Weekend play with your buddies - chug one beer

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It depends if anyone saw you ground your club (just kidding, just kidding). Answer is above.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It depends if anyone saw you ground your club (just kidding, just kidding). Answer is above.

I just saw one of my playing partners do that yesterday, but he was doing many things slightly off that day. It was 106 degrees (So. Cal.), so I didn't mention anything. All of us were double bogey or worse. I think each of made a par. So, it did not matter. We had fun anyway.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Almost positive it's ok to ground your club ONLY if it does not affect the lie of the ball and it's not on your backswing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

actually after reviewing the usga rules.  It is a penalty, unless you can say you're smoothing the ground in respect to caring for the course or to prevent falling or the many other weird exceptions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

actually after reviewing the usga rules.  It is a penalty, unless you can say you're smoothing the ground in respect to caring for the course or to prevent falling or the many other weird exceptions.

Wow, this was a real expert opinion :-D Fortunately, it was way closer to truth than Tom's previous post.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Tom Shanks

Almost positive it's ok to ground your club ONLY if it does not affect the lie of the ball and it's not on your backswing.

Why would you offer an answer to a rules question when you clearly know nothing at all about the rules?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Well I apologize for upsetting you so much.  Must be misinformation from multiple debates over the subject.  In casual games, I think people take this rule much too seriously.  I've seen people throw tantrums when someone's club barely grounds on their waggle. Then there's a huge fight over how to score the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you had multiple debates one would think you'd know the actual rule.  As for taking "this" rule too seriously, the rules are the rules, you either follow them or you're not playing golf imo.

Originally Posted by Tom Shanks

Well I apologize for upsetting you so much.  Must be misinformation from multiple debates over the subject.  In casual games, I think people take this rule much too seriously.  I've seen people throw tantrums when someone's club barely grounds on their waggle. Then there's a huge fight over how to score the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Tom Shanks

Then there's a huge fight over how to score the hole.

You must play with idiots or at the very least people who like to fight. Why is there a fight? You point to the rule and that tells you how to score the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Well, i do believe that exceptions exist to even the most 'obvious' answer.  And what does 'grounding' mean?  Is that intentional or accidental?  Slipping on the wet grassy slope leading into the bunker and touching the sand with the clubhead far from your ball, is that grounding?  Sorry, iacas, but the world just ain't so obvious.  I offer the large and wordy 'decisions' book which supplement the RULES OF GOLF.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by joekelly

Well, i do believe that exceptions exist to even the most 'obvious' answer.

And what does 'grounding' mean?

Is that intentional or accidental?

eSlipping on the wet grassy slope leading into the bunker and touching the sand with the clubhead far from your ball, is that grounding?

Sorry, iacas, but the world just ain't so obvious.  I offer the large and wordy 'decisions' book which supplement the RULES OF GOLF.

Of course the Decisions tell you the answer to the points you query above.

But the Rule is not concerned with 'grounding'. It is concerned with touching the ground (in a hazard).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by joekelly

Well, i do believe that exceptions exist to even the most 'obvious' answer.  And what does 'grounding' mean?  Is that intentional or accidental?  Slipping on the wet grassy slope leading into the bunker and touching the sand with the clubhead far from your ball, is that grounding?  Sorry, iacas, but the world just ain't so obvious.

On this subject, yes, yes it is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Rules are rules, yes.  Still, there are a few weird exceptions in the rule book.  While I understand that you cannot ground your club like it's a fairway shot, who is to say (besides the person hitting) that they didn't lose their balance somewhat while taking their approach and graze the sand slightly.  I also don't understand how it's ok to take 2 clubs into the bunker and chuck one on the ground yet you cant even accidentally touch the sand 15 feet away from where your ball lies with your club in hand.  Is there just a ton of misinformation on the internet about this?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Tom Shanks

Rules are rules, yes.  Still, there are a few weird exceptions in the rule book.  While I understand that you cannot ground your club like it's a fairway shot, who is to say (besides the person hitting) that they didn't lose their balance somewhat while taking their approach and graze the sand slightly.  I also don't understand how it's ok to take 2 clubs into the bunker and chuck one on the ground yet you cant even accidentally touch the sand 15 feet away from where your ball lies with your club in hand.  Is there just a ton of misinformation on the internet about this?

I don't play with you so I really don't care what you do on the course.  But people who ask questions on a Rules Forum expect answers that have to do with what the rules really are, not what you are able to rationalize for yourself.  When someone is "almost positive" about something that is clearly WRONG, they should not be answering questions on a rules forum.

The only reason there is a ton of misinformation on the internet is because of people like you.  Your answer had nothing to do with weird exceptions in the rule book.  It was just pure nonsense.  It is one thing to question why the rule is the way it is, as MEfree does all the time.  It is quite another to state that the rule is what you think it should be when the actual rule is something quite different.

A word of advice:  when you find yourself at the bottom of a hole, stop digging.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Tom Shanks

Rules are rules, yes.  Still, there are a few weird exceptions in the rule book.  While I understand that you cannot ground your club like it's a fairway shot, who is to say (besides the person hitting) that they didn't lose their balance somewhat while taking their approach and graze the sand slightly.  I also don't understand how it's ok to take 2 clubs into the bunker and chuck one on the ground yet you cant even accidentally touch the sand 15 feet away from where your ball lies with your club in hand.  Is there just a ton of misinformation on the internet about this?

If you touch the ground with your club in your hand - penalty. There cannot be variable distances from the ball. How close is close?

If it isn't in your hand, then no penalty. It is presumed that you cannot get any information about the ground if your hand is not involved.

It is also assumed that the player who may have lost this balance is honest. As all golfers are.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you touch the ground with your club in your hand - penalty. There cannot be variable distances from the ball. How close is close? If it isn't in your hand, then no penalty. It is presumed that you cannot get any information about the ground if your hand is not involved.

Although you present a good guidance here I need to disagree slightly. You may touch sand with a club you have in your hand when you are about to lay that extra club down in the hazard. The penalty comes into the picture once you touch the ground with the club you are going to use to make your next stroke. This may result in quite nasty situations when having two clubs in your hands and laying one of them down touching the ground (accidentally) with both of them. How would you rule that?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Donald Trump for president?
      I want to be the Walmart greeter.  I can't support my family on that wage though. Typically the higher paying jobs are harder and have more responsibility (stress).  If I could get paid the same that I do now with a simpler (easier) job, I would do it in a heartbeat.  I am certain many others would as well.
    • Donald Trump for president?
      Haha! The same could be said for honestly defending some of his positions as well, I hear ya.  Most criticism of Trump equates to name calling. I have seen very few well-versed critiques of his policy regarding immigration. 
    • Donald Trump for president?
      This is exactly what we need. The decline of the economy around my are was/is directly related to the loss of manufacturing jobs available. People who made a good living working at a place like the Phillips plant near here suddenly lost their job when that plant was moved to Mexico, same with Dana, as well as several other well paying manufacturing facilities. Even some of the plants that are still here employ significantly fewer people and are now much harder to get into as a result. If a President could find a way to incentivise *no clue how to spell that* companies to bring their plants back into the US we'd see a marked improvement in the middle class, and that President might be considered one of the greatest ever because of that. The problem is, in order to bring them back, it could take things that people really dislike, like subsidies, tax breaks, and other financial help from the government to these big companies. However, I see nothing wrong with doing these things on a short term basis to help bring those plants back home because the increase in better paying jobs will have a big positive impact on the economy.
    • What are you listening to?
      Right now.... one of the finest guitar solos ever played.... Maggot Brain by Funkadelic... One that I could put on repeat and listen to all day. 
    • Different swing for Driver and Irons
      Had not swung for a while and when I was practicing at indoor range today it seem like fairway woods and iron were more similar than iron and driver  the setup with iron and fairway wood was similar . Ball position off the left shoulder . With the fairway wood I address the ball further away and created a more swallow path .  The ball position for the iron was closer to me and slightly more toward the middle of the stance. The plane was more steep relative to fairway wood  The driver feels completely different. The last 5 years I been working on having positive AoA so that the low point of my swing is before the ball and at tee level . The funny thing is that the driver swing felt more like I was pitching with a wedge   That is the feeling like I was hitting up on the ball . Ball position is off the lower body
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. glinks
      glinks
      (43 years old)
  • Blog Entries