IGNORED

My Swing (ruufiyo)

Note: This thread is 2104 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been Playing Golf for: 6 months

My current handicap index or average score is: 28

My typical ball flight is: straight, tends to be very high

The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: ball flight too high

Hi,

I started playing golf about 6 months ago, taking lessons every 2 weeks. I am really happy with the progress I am making but struggling with something I cannot really grasp fully yet. My ball flight tends to be really high (even with Wood 3 or Driver) and I think I know what is causing this: My hands are not in front of the ball at impact and I am releasing the club too early/flipping my hands. Furthermore, I think I am not driving/sliding my hips enough forward which might add to this as well.

But even while I know this (hopefully this is correct), I cannot find a "trigger" to help me move my hands and wrists as they are supposed to be.

If anyone has some feedback on my video below (had some issues with balance there as well) or knows some drills on how to find the right "trigger" for the correct wrist release / hip slide, I would really appreciate this.

Videos:

Quick Update:

Had a lesson today, I need to work on my upper body turn to move passive hands forward at impact. Actually broke a club (8 iron) today on the range, got a lot of folks amazed, including my pro...as the shaft broke in three pieces during the backswing, beginning of the downswing. Even the guy at the golf shop where I bought the club said he never saw something like this before. Probably set the angle in the wrist too hard or something.....

This is a video of me trying to focus more on upper body turn, half swing, 8 iron: