• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
turtleback

Score to post after losing hole in match play

39 posts in this topic

So I was playing a match today and I hit into a ditch.  I removed a few twigs, and then realized that the ditch was marked as a lateral hazard (it is a drainage ditch that happens to be dry right now).  So I lose the hole for removing loose impediments in a marked hazard.  (stupid on my part, but oh well)
I still played out the hole and ignoring any penalty strokes scored a 6.  For purposes of posting my score for handicap purposes what should I score for this hole?  Do I count the stroke play penalty of 2 strokes and record an 8?  Was it wrong to play out the hole once I committed the infraction?  If so, would I take the 2 penalty strokes into account in determining the most likely score?  I can't recall hearing or reading anything about this situation and how to handle it.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

In match play, your score is what you would mostly have received.  So I would say you record an 8.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing wrong with playing out the hole.  (Not considered practice under the Rules.)  For posting, include your penalty strokes.  If you played out the hole I'd use that score for posting......assuming you were still giving your best effort.  Otherwise, post what you would have most likely made if you had finished the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In match play, your score is what you would mostly have received.  So I would say you record an 8.

Except that for handicap posting, that score may not exceed the players maximum ESC score. In this case, as a 14 hcp (note that course hcp is the determiner) he would post 7.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by turtleback

So I was playing a match today and I hit into a ditch.  I removed a few twigs, and then realized that the ditch was marked as a lateral hazard (it is a drainage ditch that happens to be dry right now).  So I lose the hole for removing loose impediments in a marked hazard.  (stupid on my part, but oh well)

I still played out the hole and ignoring any penalty strokes scored a 6.  For purposes of posting my score for handicap purposes what should I score for this hole?  Do I count the stroke play penalty of 2 strokes and record an 8?  Was it wrong to play out the hole once I committed the infraction?  If so, would I take the 2 penalty strokes into account in determining the most likely score?  I can't recall hearing or reading anything about this situation and how to handle it.

Since you played out the hole you use that to post your score.  If ESC is indicated (if 8 is higher than you are allowed to return), then adjust the score before posting.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I just don't comprehend the concept of using match play rounds for handicapping. Your whole strategy is different to a stroke play round, you don't finish a lot of holes - gimmes or the hole is won before it gets to putting. Weird, just weird.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Wansteadimp

I just don't comprehend the concept of using match play rounds for handicapping. Your whole strategy is different to a stroke play round, you don't finish a lot of holes - gimmes or the hole is won before it gets to putting. Weird, just weird.

No kidding. Match play is one player against another playing whatever shots they feel necessary to win that hole. They take chances when down or play unusually safe when their opponent is in trouble with no thought to the previous hole or holes to come. The only resemblance it has to stroke play is the equipment and the playing field.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No kidding. Match play is one player against another playing whatever shots they feel necessary to win that hole. They take chances when down or play unusually safe when their opponent is in trouble with no thought to the previous hole or holes to come. The only resemblance it has to stroke play is the equipment and the playing field.

Well, that and the fact that I try to get the ball into the hole in the fewest strokes possible....... I play both.....pretty evenly split, and truth be told, I don't see a gnats ass difference in my scores over the course of a season.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by David in FL

Well, that and the fact that I try to get the ball into the hole in the fewest strokes possible.......

I play both.....pretty evenly split, and truth be told, I don't see a gnats ass difference in my scores over the course of a season.

Agree to disagree. Check.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by David in FL

Well, that and the fact that I try to get the ball into the hole in the fewest strokes possible.......

I play both.....pretty evenly split, and truth be told, I don't see a gnats ass difference in my scores over the course of a season.

Originally Posted by Datsyuk

Agree to disagree. Check.

For David, his HDCP isn't going to change if he posts them or not, so he might as well post them all.

And Datsyuk plays so recklessly in match play that they would unfairly affect his HDCP ... so don't post 'em.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Wansteadimp

I just don't comprehend the concept of using match play rounds for handicapping. Your whole strategy is different to a stroke play round, you don't finish a lot of holes - gimmes or the hole is won before it gets to putting. Weird, just weird.

I agree, but the USGA  allows it and some organizations, mine included, require that all competition rounds be recorded for handicap.  They had to come up with a solution which was at least workable, albeit imperfect.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

This topic has been discussed quite a bit in other threads.

1) If you have a GHIN handicap you MUST post all match play scores.  This isn't a should, or it's allowed..........you must.  If you want to do something else, that's up to you......but at that point you are off the reservation.  (Sec. 5-1c  USGA Handicap System Manual)

2) Big picture here.....no matter what you may think, the USGA believes handicaps for the masses are more accurate if match play scores are included.....with the caveat that you understand how to correctly handle concessions and uncompleted holes.  Having been a Handicap Chairman and Tournament Director for a number of years I would agree.  The pros of this policy out weigh the cons.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And Datsyuk plays so recklessly in match play that they would unfairly affect his HDCP ... so don't post 'em.

.....and as a result, his handicap would be invalid.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by David in FL

.....and as a result, his handicap would be invalid.

If he had USGA HC, which I guess he does not have.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If he had USGA HC, which I guess he does not have.

Assuming that their rounds are played properly and by the rules, I'd argue that any time a player picks and chooses the scores that he/she posts, their hcp is invalid, regardless of what organization administers the hcp. Some do it to sandbag and some to drive a vanity hcp, but either way, that hcp is not a reflection of their true ability/potential.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by David in FL

Assuming that their rounds are played properly and by the rules, I'd argue that any time a player picks and chooses the scores that he/she posts, their hcp is invalid, regardless of what organization administers the hcp. Some do it to sandbag and some to drive a vanity hcp, but either way, that hcp is not a reflection of their true ability/potential.

Yes, but this particular case (match play round under CONGU) is not valid for handicapping, at least to my understanding.

We were not talking about life in general.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by luu5

Yes, but this particular case (match play round under CONGU) is not valid for handicapping, at least to my understanding.

We were not talking about life in general.

Quite under CONGU it needs to be in competition or declared as a supplemental score for handicapping before a round commences.

Since there is now virtually no difference between the rules of golf between the USGA & R&A; the difference in handicap systems is mind boggling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by luu5

If he had USGA HC, which I guess he does not have.

I don't have a USGA index, which is why I asked what GHIN was in another thread (had to google it).  I was certain no other players were entering match play rounds for their index based on my observations. There's honest (which I am) then there's weird. Those match play rounds would likely be paired with stroke play 9's. That's just plain goofy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0