IGNORED

Beginner Struggling

Note: This thread is 4171 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this website and I just wanted to get some advice. I'm 34 and I started playing golf 8 months ago and bought a second hand set of blades and didn't take any lessons initially. I played for 3 months before I realised that I needed to get myself a set of cavity backs and get some lessons. Since then I've had a lesson every 2-4 weeks and tried to play as much as I can. Sometimes going to the range, park or getting out for a game. I'm playing at least once a week and practicing a couple of times a week.

The problem is I'm still struggling. When I started I was hitting around 120-130. I'm now hitting around 110 but I can't seem to drop my score. I'm just so inconsistent. I'll have a few good holes where I'm hitting par or bogey then I'll hit an 8 or 9 on the next couple of holes. I sometimes think it is my back turn, but I work on that and I still struggle. Then I think it's my hip turn, so I work on that and I still struggle. Then it's something else.

People I play with all seem to be better than me. Should I be better than I am for playing as long as I have? Am I just never going to get it and should I just give up? I love going out golfing but I get so downhearted about my poor scores that I get embarrassed playing with other people so I end up just playing on my own.

Any advice anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Many Thanks

David