IGNORED

My Swing (NotBillCosby)

NotBillCosby
Note: This thread is 4128 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have been playing golf for quite a while, but it was only sporadic and with friends.  Lately, I decided to get serious about the game and took a couple of lessons to work on the problem areas of my swing.  I think there is something wrong with the downswing, but not quite sure what it is for the life of me.  Would really appreciate some great feedback!

I've been Playing Golf for: On and off for the past 5 years, but seriously in the past 3 months

My current handicap index or average score is: 20+

My typical ball flight is: Inconsistent

The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: Seems like an over the top swing, not sure how to flatten it out.

Videos:

I can't believe people mistake you for Bill Cosby...

Driver: Titleist 915 D3
3 wood: 15 Callaway X Hot pro
Hybrids:  18 Callaway X Hot Pro
Irons: 4-GW Callaway Apex
project x 6.0
Wedges: 54 , 58 Callaway
Putter: 2 ball
Ball: Callaway Chrome

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I would try to get the hands more in on the back swing to give it some more depth.  It would also help shorten the golf swing some and help eliminate the over the top move

• Upvote 1

Driver: Titleist 915 D3
3 wood: 15 Callaway X Hot pro
Hybrids:  18 Callaway X Hot Pro
Irons: 4-GW Callaway Apex
project x 6.0
Wedges: 54 , 58 Callaway
Putter: 2 ball
Ball: Callaway Chrome

Hi NBC...

1.) Try getting your camera setup according to this reference material.

http://thesandtrap.com/b/playing_tips/filming_your_swing

2.) Looks like you need more waist bend at address. This will help the shoulders turn more vertical versus horizontal.  Here is a solid video from Andrew Rice which addresses this issue, and provides an excellent drill to try at home.