• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
LovinItAll

When Not To Post Scores?

42 posts in this topic

I'm a proponent of posting all scores, but I sometimes play in conditions that have a significant impact on scoring (high winds - 30+mph). It would be one thing if all of Las Vegas experienced these conditions simultaneously, but I play north at Paiute where the winds can easily be 15-20mph stronger than in town. The question is this: - At what point does the USGA recommend not posting scores? It seems like I once read something about not posting if conditions significantly altered the course rating, either by playing much easier or much harder. If there is an official USGA line on this, I can't find it. Anyone?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

http://www.usga.org/handicapping/publications/To-Post-Or-Not-To-Post/

Unfortunately this doesn't cover weather conditions. Hence the saying "Fair weather golfer?" In my opinion, I think you have to be consistent. Unless you're in a tournament, why would you post your score in 25+ windy conditions unless you're happy to have a few "sandbagging" scores in there. Just my opinion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[URL=http://www.usga.org/handicapping/publications/To-Post-Or-Not-To-Post/]http://www.usga.org/handicapping/publications/To-Post-Or-Not-To-Post/[/URL] Unfortunately this doesn't cover weather conditions. Hence the saying "Fair weather golfer?" In my opinion, I think you have to be consistent. Unless you're in a tournament, why would you post your score in 25+ windy conditions unless you're happy to have a few "sandbagging" scores in there. Just my opinion.

Because most on here would prefer to be vanity cappers, which is fine with me since it gives me less competition come tournament time.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by LovinItAll

I'm a proponent of posting all scores, but I sometimes play in conditions that have a significant impact on scoring (high winds - 30+mph).

It would be one thing if all of Las Vegas experienced these conditions simultaneously, but I play north at Paiute where the winds can easily be 15-20mph stronger than in town. The question is this:

- At what point does the USGA recommend not posting scores?

It seems like I once read something about not posting if conditions significantly altered the course rating, either by playing much easier or much harder.

If there is an official USGA line on this, I can't find it.

Anyone?

Weather has nothing to do with posting scores.  I play a lot in high winds along the eastern foothills in Colorado, and all scores get posted.  It's not up to the player, but to the association which manages your handicap.  Even under sloppy days when the official policy is lift, clean and place, you still have to post.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you are in season, you must post scores. The wind on the course does not factor into whether or not you post your score. If the conditions of the course are so poor that scores should not be submitted for USGA Handicap purposes, it must be decided upon by the courses handicap committee. As spelled out in rule 7-1 of the USGA: Handicap Manual - Individual players playing the course do not independently decide whether scores are acceptable because of the conditions. If you play the course, and you are in season, by rule, you must post the score. Winds of 30+ mph are just part of the game.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I'm a proponent of posting all scores, but I sometimes play in conditions that have a significant impact on scoring (high winds - 30+mph). It would be one thing if all of Las Vegas experienced these conditions simultaneously, but I play north at Paiute where the winds can easily be 15-20mph stronger than in town. The question is this: - At what point does the USGA recommend not posting scores? It seems like I once read something about not posting if conditions significantly altered the course rating, either by playing much easier or much harder. If there is an official USGA line on this, I can't find it. Anyone?

Is it possible for conditions to alter the course rating by making it play "much easier"? I'm not even sure that's possible?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by MyrtleBeachGolf

Is it possible for conditions to alter the course rating by making it play "much easier"?

I'm not even sure that's possible?

Temporary greens making the course shorter would count, right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Weather has nothing to do with posting scores.  I play a lot in high winds along the eastern foothills in Colorado, and all scores get posted.  It's not up to the player, but to the association which manages your handicap.  Even under sloppy days when the official policy is lift, clean and place, you still have to post.

I played on Saturday in the rain/wind/cold, which I never do.  Needless to say, I played like doo-doo.  I posted my score (a 98 - 96 ESC - on an easy course, 7 shots worse than my worse score since starting keeping a handicap about 14 months ago) but felt really guilty doing so.

On the flip side, that one horrendous score is going to affect my handicap something like 0.1 shots, so no big whoop.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I played on Saturday in the rain/wind/cold, which I never do.  Needless to say, I played like doo-doo.  I posted my score (a 98 - 96 ESC - on an easy course, 7 shots worse than my worse score since starting keeping a handicap about 14 months ago) but felt really guilty doing so. On the flip side, that one horrendous score is going to affect my handicap something like 0.1 shots, so no big whoop.

Sounds like a fun day......not!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by SAGolfLuvr

Unless you're in a tournament, why would you post your score in 25+ windy conditions unless you're happy to have a few "sandbagging" scores in there. Just my opinion.

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

I played on Saturday in the rain/wind/cold, which I never do.  Needless to say, I played like doo-doo.  I posted my score (a 98 - 96 ESC - on an easy course, 7 shots worse than my worse score since starting keeping a handicap about 14 months ago) but felt really guilty doing so.

On the flip side, that one horrendous score is going to affect my handicap something like 0.1 shots, so no big whoop.

If I understand how the handicap is calculated, that one round won't affect your handicap at all, since it's calculated from your 10 best scores of your most recent 20 scores.  So the only way it would affect your handicap is if that one bad round (or a couple of them) falls into your 10 best. (And if that's the case, then it's really not that bad a round for you; it's how you play.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by David in FL

Sounds like a fun day......not!

Seriously ... should have gone bowling instead!

Originally Posted by Missouri Swede

If I understand how the handicap is calculated, that one round won't affect your handicap at all, since it's calculated from your 10 best scores of your most recent 20 scores.  So the only way it would affect your handicap is if that one bad round (or a couple of them) falls into your 10 best. (And if that's the case, then it's really not that bad a round for you; it's how you play.)

Yes and no.  It will never be one of my ten best (if it comes to that, I'm retiring) but what it can do (and did) is knock off one of my previous ten best for being the oldest.  Prior to this round being played, my 20th oldest round was one of my ten , an 11.4 differential.  Once the next revision comes, that round drops off, and is replaced by this one (a 22.2 diff).  Since this one is not one of my ten best, it goes searching for the next one, which is a 13.2.

Actually, as of the last revision I was a 9.9.  Since then I've had one good round and this one and I am going to be a 9.8 on the 1st.  (Would have been 9.6 had I not played Saturday)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

If I understand how the handicap is calculated, that one round won't affect your handicap at all, since it's calculated from your 10 best scores of your most recent 20 scores.  So the only way it would affect your handicap is if that one bad round (or a couple of them) falls into your 10 best. (And if that's the case, then it's really not that bad a round for you; it's how you play.)

As Golfingdad explains above...... Kinda, but not quite. A bad round like that replaces the 20th round which now drops off. If that round was a top 10 round, the former 11th round now moves into the top 10, potentially raising the index. So even though it won't be used as part of the actual calculation itself, a bad round can impact the index. How much depends on how bad that 11th round was..... The thought that a single bad round won't affect the index is used as justification by some people not to post a bad round. That leads to an inaccurate and lower hcp index.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Just get back out there on a mild day and score better. Still a couple of days before the next revision.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Seriously ... should have gone bowling instead!

Yes and no.  It will never be one of my ten best (if it comes to that, I'm retiring) but what it can do (and did) is knock off one of my previous ten best for being the oldest.  Prior to this round being played, my 20th oldest round was one of my ten , an 11.4 differential.  Once the next revision comes, that round drops off, and is replaced by this one (a 22.2 diff).  Since this one is not one of my ten best, it goes searching for the next one, which is a 13.2.

Actually, as of the last revision I was a 9.9.  Since then I've had one good round and this one and I am going to be a 9.8 on the 1st.  (Would have been 9.6 had I not played Saturday)

Originally Posted by David in FL

As Golfingdad explains above...... Kinda, but not quite. A bad round like that replaces the 20th round which now drops off. If that round was a top 10 round, the former 11th round now moves into the top 10, potentially raising the index.

So even though it won't be used as part of the actual calculation itself, a bad round can impact the index. How much depends on how bad that 11th round was.....

The thought that a single bad round won't affect the index is used as justification by some people not to post a bad round. That leads to an inaccurate and lower hcp index.

Good point. I knew there was something I hadn't considered. But in this situation, then any average round (not a blow-up round) would raise your index. And the question of a blowup round was what I was trying to address with my just-enough-knowledge-to-get-me-into-trouble reply.

The point I think I was trying to make is that the bad score itself won't affect the handicap (22 differential won't change it any more than a 50 would!).

I think what you two are pointing out to me is that playing another round (good, bad, average) will mean it has to change one way or the other (unless you happen to post a score where your differential is exactly the average of the 10 best previous to the round). And the fact that it's not better than the average means that it will go up. I think I see that now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Weather has nothing to do with posting scores.  I play a lot in high winds along the eastern foothills in Colorado, and all scores get posted.  It's not up to the player, but to the association which manages your handicap.  Even under sloppy days when the official policy is lift, clean and place, you still have to post.

I played on Saturday in the rain/wind/cold, which I never do.  Needless to say, I played like doo-doo.  I posted my score (a 98 - 96 ESC - on an easy course, 7 shots worse than my worse score since starting keeping a handicap about 14 months ago) but felt really guilty doing so.

On the flip side, that one horrendous score is going to affect my handicap something like 0.1 shots, so no big whoop.

Actually it will never affect your handicap unless it becomes one of your 10 best before it drops off after 20 more rounds.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Actually it will never affect your handicap unless it becomes one of your 10 best before it drops off after 20 more rounds.

Sure it will (sometimes).  My tenth best was 20 rounds ago, and my 11th best was 2 shots worse than my tenth, hence, it affects my handicap.

Originally Posted by Missouri Swede

I think what you two are pointing out to me is that playing another round (good, bad, average) will mean it has to change one way or the other (unless you happen to post a score where your differential is exactly the average of the 10 best previous to the round). And the fact that it's not better than the average means that it will go up. I think I see that now.

Not always.  Any time the 20th oldest round is not already one of your top ten then you can't raise your handicap that day no matter how bad you shoot, you can potentially lower it by beating one of your top 10's.  If not, your handicap will stay exactly the same.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

I played on Saturday in the rain/wind/cold, which I never do.  Needless to say, I played like doo-doo.  I posted my score (a 98 - 96 ESC - on an easy course, 7 shots worse than my worse score since starting keeping a handicap about 14 months ago) but felt really guilty doing so.

On the flip side, that one horrendous score is going to affect my handicap something like 0.1 shots, so no big whoop.

Actually, it won't affect your handicap at all, as your handicap is established by the best 10 of your last 20.

Your handicap might be affected to some degree every time you post a score, but that score by itself will never count. Unless, of course, your next 20 rounds really suck.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by phan52

Actually, it won't affect your handicap at all, as your handicap is established by the best 10 of your last 20.

Hey, Phan and Fourputt ... finish reading the thread before you comment!

(Those happy faces are all to try and illustrate my lack of anger in my comment ... just having fun)  But seriously ... read up ;)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0