IGNORED

Can I walk onto a college golf team?

Gabriel5404
Note: This thread is 4126 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello, this is my first post so I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong spot, and I apologize for the length. I am relatively new to the game (I am 19 yr old) but completely in love with it. I started playing at 15 and my first real round was team tryouts my sophomore year. I failed to make the team as I shot a 69 on a par 36, nine, from the whites. I also remember shaving strokes out of embarrassment and no respect for the game so I pry shot somewhere between 72-75ish (ah to be young lol). I didn't play much until about 17 when I got pretty into golf, I bought clubs that fit me better and hit the range a couple more times. I decided to try out again my senior year and made the team even played in a few big tournaments, so I know about the different rules and etiquette of golf if that helps any. in the last two years I have played pry 70-100 rounds and hit the range around 20 times. I have not taken any lessons or what not but I now shoot in the 43-48 range on the same nine as the first round I played but from the blues. and I play to a 15.7 hdc. I am currently at a CC that has an extremely strong golf program and will transfer 2014 or 2015 to most likely a NCAA div. 2 college.

My question is what are the chances that if I put in enough time that I can drop below a 10 hdc and possibly walk on to a college team. I know this is pry just another pipe dream to some but I am dead set on it. Any advice, tips, ect. is greatly appreciated.