IGNORED

I don't think a better technique makes you more consistent

Note: This thread is 4087 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Provided you can already compress the ball properly, hit it far enough and have a predictable shot pattern any technical change you make after that won´t make you more consistent and is a purely cosmetic change.

If a better technique made you more consistent then you wouldn´t have to practice and you´d immediately become a more consistent player as long as you "hit the right position(s)", right?

Well everyone that has ever made a swing change knows that it doesn´t work that way.

In my relatively controversial opionion I think consistency is simply a product of practice and hand eye coordination. If you have a total beginner for example with a shitty swing he´ll hit a ton of tops, duffs, shanks etc..., but have him hit 50000 balls and he´ll be much more consistent and hit less tops, duffs etc... while basically swinging the same way.

If someone makes a swing change and gets better afterwards it´s because he practiced more and not because his technique improved. Technique simply enables someone to have a chance to hit the ball solid, but it doesn´t make you more consistent.

Thoughts?

Golf is a game in which the ball always lies poorly and the player always lies well.

I think good technique doesn't MAKE you consistent, but it removes a host of small barriers to consistency. (Swing Flaws)

It is true that a player may become proficient with poor-er technique.

However, if you begin by learning a technique that generally works to avoid tops, fats, shanks, etc, from the beginning, the inconsistencies in a swing that could have caused the types of shots we have discussed are reduced or eliminated.