IGNORED

How bad am I?

Note: This thread is 4087 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey folks, be gentle.. new(ish) to golf and new to this forum. Been reading/watching a lot on the web and just playing a very short 9 hole course at present. I shoot around 110-120 (same 9 holes played twice equates to 3724 yards). I have some lessons coming my way with a pro local to me, we will see how this goes. Last week I went on to a 'proper' 18 hole for the first time and hit 140 (the course is 5192 yards). It was very disheartening. I was playing with an 18 handicapper and he made me look absolutely hopeless. How does this sound as an absolute beginner? I'm building my confidence on the short 9 hole and will keep practicing. I feel my left arm is not staying straight throughout my swing? How important do you rate this? I seem to hit better at present (at the range) with a bent left arm?! I'm sure some lessons may help with that! Sorry, so many questions for an absolute beginner

Originally Posted by claytonmeister

Hey folks, be gentle.. new(ish) to golf and new to this forum. Been reading/watching a lot on the web and just playing a very short 9 hole course at present. I shoot around 110-120 (same 9 holes played twice equates to 3724 yards). I have some lessons coming my way with a pro local to me, we will see how this goes.

Last week I went on to a 'proper' 18 hole for the first time and hit 140 (the course is 5192 yards). It was very disheartening. I was playing with an 18 handicapper and he made me look absolutely hopeless.

How does this sound as an absolute beginner? I'm building my confidence on the short 9 hole and will keep practicing.