IGNORED

New Putter

Nitro
Note: This thread is 4089 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Good afternoon,

I have been golfing for a few years now, and haven't got all that much time into practicing and improving my game as much as i'd like.

Currently I am very inconsistent.  One 18 I will shoot a 102, then the next I will shoot a 96.

I have been using a 'fake' $30 Japanese Odyssey white hot 2 ball putter which I dislike very much.  It would be decent if the weighting wasn't so off, & had some weight to it.  It's very light.

To be honest, I really don't know if I should do blade, Mallet, or something inbetween. Seems like my putters now either go too far, or too short.  This all comes down to practice.

I've been looking at the TM Ghosts, & Odyssey putters. I like the look to the TM Ghost DA-12, and looks be fairly heavy for a blade.  On the other hand, the TM Ghost Tour FO-72 looks to be the balance between blade/mallet.  What's the big difference between the 'L-neck' and 'single-bend' shafts?

Obviously I will head to a Golf Galaxy or Dick's to do the little testing I can, but what are your thoughts on those putters, and even the ghost series in comparison with a like model by Odyssey?

Any other thoughts?

Putters are all about what feels best to you. One example was I really wanted an odyssey milled black series when it can out, I went to roll some putts with it and I hated it then found a clearance putter for $200 less than I was gonna pay. But traditionally they say mallets are for straight back straight through while blades are for more arc players. You can also put lead tape on your putter to add weight, but if you look around you can find really nice putters cheap. Like a ping iWi putter would be a nice option.