IGNORED

driver fitting - WHO DO YOU TRUST?

indykappa
Note: This thread is 4063 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

a little background on me...i'm relatively new to the game of golf (a little less than 24 months).  my first golf set was purchased off craigslist for $35 (driver, 3w, irons, wedges, putter, and stand bag).  getting a whole set for 35 bucks gives you an idea of the caliber of equipment i was using.

after taking a few lessons, i began purchasing some nicer (yet still very used) clubs.  my current driver is a Callawy FT9 Tour neutral(10.5*) with a stiff fukikara shaft.  when i hit it on the nose, it's a thing of beauty, but i lack the consistency in performance that i would like.  obviously, some additional lessons would help, but it has been recommended to me to "GO GET FITTED"

so, i went to the carolina golf expo a few weeks ago, and this is where the confusion began.  i went to a golfsmith/golftec guy, and he put this vest on me and hooked me up to this machine.  driver swing speed came in at 92-96mph.  this was my first stop, and i didn't do much warming up.

still at the expo...next stop was the nike booth.  guy doesn't have the golfsmith vest for me to wear, but he has a pretty elaborate setup.  swing speeds (according to this guy) were in the 98-102 range.

still at the expo...next stop was the bridgestone ball fitting guys.  i take some swings and they give me a printout that states my swing speed is in the 92-94 range

2 days later, i decide to go to my local golf galaxy location.  i pay the 30 bucks for a driver fitting, and after several swings, my swing speed comes in in the 91-94 range