IGNORED

Swinging Motion & Not Hitting Motion

Note: This thread is 4087 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi

As a beginner I naturally thought that the harder I "hit" the golf ball, the longer it will travel.

I'm a former athlete and I hit the life out of the golf ball, to my surprise resulting in short distance followed by all sorts of (expected) elbow and wrist pain etc.

Recently I'm trying to teach my brain that the natural down-swing supported by gravity and the right wrist action will hit the ball further than my muscle power.

Apparently a more relaxed wrist, reduced pressure on your grip and a less "forced" swing are part of achieving more distance.

I'm really struggling and can not get over the (mental) barrier that makes me hit it fast instead of slowing down and swinging it with the power of nature.

Any good golfers out there who successfully transitioned from hitting the ball to swinging the club?

It would be great if you could share your story and advice.

Thanks,

Nave

Im going through exactly the same thing at the min!! When i try to hit the golf ball it ends up a fade/slice, and when i do loosen the grip and relax the arms and have a nice smooth swing it does go on a better trajectory and slightly further, still havnt mastered it, not even close in fact but a tip i was given was to hover the club behind the ball and loosen everything, its ment to relax the muscles a bit instead of having the club on the ground where you have somewhere to put pressure on it.....Im no Pro and my driving is the worst part of my game but im seeing slight improvements! Fingers crossed itl help