IGNORED

How do you keep your head cool during your rounds?

fRzzy
Note: This thread is 4057 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello,

I have just look at my score cards of my last (first) 3 rounds, and it usually look like this 2 3 1 2 6 8 1 2 0 (strokes over par)

I'm new to the game, so bogey and double bogey is ok for me, but I tense up after a bad shot, and it results in more bad shots. How do you get over that last bad shot you make?

I don't know about others, but for me it was playing a lot more. I've played more in the last year than anytime before and I've noticed that stress and anxiety over shots has dropped. After 35 9-hole rounds and about 12 full rounds plus 100 buckets I can say that a bad shot does not affect my next shot. I just say to myself "well, that wasn't my best swing" and think about what my best approach will be considering where the ball is now.

I find it really important not to try to save a hole. If a bad drive has put me into a tough spot I will not make a heroic to get to the green. Those are the kinds of shots that I have a low probability of pulling off. That kind of thinking gets me into blow-up holes. Instead I look at it and plan out 2 shots to get on the green...8i, PW or punch 6i then 8i, or whatever. There are likely two comfortable swings you can make from anywhere that will get you on the green.

Why do they call golf "golf"?  Because all the other four letter words were taken.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by 0ldblu3