IGNORED

Anyone Else Get Worse The More They Play?

johnjm22
Note: This thread is 4050 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I find that I play my best golf after coming back from an extended period away from the game (like a month or so).

When I'm playing on a regular basis (and actively trying to improve my game), it seems like my swing slowly gets worse, less natural/fluid feeling, and I start fighting it.  In order to get my game back, I usually have to stop playing for a while.

This cycle has been going on for nearly a decade.  I've been playing for 20 years and I can honestly say that I'm not any better now than I was 10 or 15 years ago.

Anyone else ever have a similar issue?

I had a similar issue.  I played probably once a week maybe twice, and the more I played the worse I got.  I think I found the reason to my game getting worse late last year.  It was entirely my mental approach to the game.  When I hit bad shots, I would try and and somehow modify my swing to make it feel like it did when I was hitting it well.  This would usually lead to it getting worse and then my attitude got worse.  I knew I sucked and would bring it out to the next round, and when I already had bad thoughts coming to the course I couldn't play well.