• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Lincoln Bradley

re-teeing

6 posts in this topic

Hi again...

Also could seem to find, or understand what i did find... If a ball from hitting off the tee goes 'out of bounds' or in the water on the full, is that a compulsory re-tee?

Thanks,

Lincoln

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Originally Posted by Lincoln Bradley

Hi again...

Also could seem to find, or understand what i did find... If a ball from hitting off the tee goes 'out of bounds' or in the water on the full, is that a compulsory re-tee?

Thanks,

Lincoln

Yes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Lincoln Bradley

Hi again...

Also could seem to find, or understand what i did find... If a ball from hitting off the tee goes 'out of bounds' or in the water on the full, is that a compulsory re-tee?

Thanks,

Lincoln

If your ball goes out of bounds, your only option is to play again under penalty of stroke and distance. And you have the same option to tee it up or not as you do on your first shot.

If your ball goes in the water, that's different and depending on whether the hazard is lateral or not you have a range of options including playing again from the tee (as your third shot for the hole):

If a ball is found in a water hazard or if it is known or virtually certain that a ball that has not been found is in the water hazard (whether the ball lies in water or not), the player may under penalty of one stroke :

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5 ); or

b. Drop a ball behind the water hazard , keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped; or

c. As additional options available only if the ball last crossed the margin of a lateral water hazard , drop a ball outside the water hazard within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than (i) the point where the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard or (ii) a point on the opposite margin of the water hazard equidistant from the hole .

When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball or substitute a ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes.

I think you may have missed the second part of his question regarding water.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the info, mates i play with always seem to miss the rules a bit, but as none of know the official ruling on it we cant argue too much... but now i do. thanks again

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Mordan

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes.

I think you may have missed the second part of his question regarding water.

Yes I did.  There are several possible options depending on the type and location of the water hazard.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0