IGNORED

My Swing (loadwire)

loadwire
Note: This thread is 3951 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi there,

New to this forum but I'm going to get my first lesson tomorrow after a good few years of hacking around, so I thought I'd track my progress from tomorrow onwards in case it's of interest to any on here.  I've booked five lessons but plan on leaving a month or two between each one depending on how I'm getting on.

I'll try and put what I've been told after each one and also how I'm doing afterwards in practice and on the course.

I did try to record my swing for the 'My Swing' thread but didn't come out great on my phone (the video that is, though the swing wasn't great either ) .  I'm not very technically minded so I might have struggled to understand feedback on here anyway, think a face-to-face lesson is what I need.

I've played a bit as a kid/teenager but not much at all in my twenties.  For the last 7/8 years I've played 10 times a year or so but am hoping to play a lot more this year.  I'd usually play to something like a 16-18 handicap, though often worse.  Best round is +12 I think.

Before I have a lesson my own analysis of my game would be:

Typical shot: Definitely not the longest, generally a bit of a fade and quite high.  I don't mind the lack of length really - issue is more with inconsistent ball striking - quite a few thin and fat shots in most rounds.

Swing: A bit 'army' - struggle to keep left arm straight on the way back.  Have been told I tend to 'quit' or fall off the shot on impact and follow through.  Am quite crouched over the ball at address, with knees too bent maybe.