IGNORED

Anyone Still Play Wilson FG-17 Blades?

Note: This thread is 1433 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

These are in my bag now:

$350 new on ebay. I emailed Wilson and they said these were a limited re-issue of the FG17 with a slightly more modernized sole made for one of the big distributors (I think it was Golfsmith). They are gorgeous, and the feel is incredible, a great find for me..

• Upvote 1

dak4n6

Newbie here. I still have the FG17 I purchased new in 1983. I use them whenever I play a quick 9 because it forces me to focus less on technique and more on strike (if that makes sense). I think distance is possibly 1/2 club less then my current set (TM Tour Burners), and fairly similar accuracy on "fairly" struck shots. Having said that, an ugly careless swing will produce significantly worse results then my TM irons. These results really don't make sense because the wilsons are weaker lofts with shorter shafts, but for me the results are what they are.

I picked up a set of 1992 Hogan Apex Redline blades yesterday. My "old" set is forged cavity back. After hitting 2 buckets of balls yesterday and today I took them to the course. They are harder to hit but I find I'm focusing on swinging correctly. When I do my part the clubs do what I want. I think if you want to be a better golfer blades would help.

I have the immediate predecessor- Wilson Staff Tour Blades that I got new in 1979. The set was 2-PW and I picked up a 1 iron later that is FG-17. I love to play with them occasionally. If I hit it "on the spot" it is as good as it gets, but slightly off is about a half club penalty. If you are talking used, you can probably pick up a good vintage set around $100 or so.

Don

In the bag: