• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
golf55

rules on marking

28 posts in this topic

After you mark the ball on the putting green. The guy puts his ball like 6-7inches closer to the hole. What is the exact rule on this? I know it has to be exact spot as when you mark it but I know some people can be a inch off.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

In replacing his ball on the putting green in a position other than where he was marked he is deemed to "have played from the wrong place" the score counts and the player incurs a penalty of two strokes (Rule 16-1b or 20-3a and 20-7c) My recommendation to all players is to visit The USGA Publication Store at www.usga.org/PublicationsStore and purchase 'Decisions on the rules of golf 2012-2013. They also have an invaluable book Golf Rules Illustrated 2012-2015 which is a fantastic aid to any rules question. Hope this helps.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've played with one or two cheaters that did this. Despicable, isn't it?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some people have a strange take on what is appropriate. They run the range of playing from the wrong place, lifting and cleaning balls in first cut and replacing on a nice plush spot in the fairway, to breakfast balls on the 1st & 10th holes and a mulligan on each nine. Many of them then have the nerve to record these rounds on GHIN. I feel sorry for their wives ;)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A guy on our league places his mark AHEAD of the ball.  The first time I saw him do I absolutely knew he'd put his ball in FRONT of the mark.  He didn't.  He put the ball right behind his quarter, lifted the mark and made the putt.

Strangely enough, we played cards one night after golf.  He holds his cards upside down!

Some folks just see things differently than most.  But placing your ball 6-8" ahead of your mark is a blatant attempt to gain an unfair advantage.

dave

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds strange. Can't think of many instances where 6" would make a difference for me. The putts I miss are rarely just 6" short. It's a miss to either side or much shorter or longer than that. Being a half foot closer likely wouldn't have any affect on my judgment of speed. Could just as easily move it 3' closer and still misjudge it and leave it short. If anything the shorter the putt the more likely I won't hit it hard enough.

But it doesn't surprise me. I see people cheat all the time. I don't get it. As hard as golf is and as much work as it takes just to be mediocre you'd think people would want to know what their flaws are so they can attempt to correct it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Dave2512

Sounds strange. Can't think of many instances where 6" would make a difference for me.

Huh. I can only think of about a million instances in which starting a putt 6 inches closer to the hole would've resulted in the ball being in the jar instead of requiring another stroke.

You never have putts break away from the hole over the final half a foot and miss by an inch or less? If not, you've got uncanny green-reading abilities.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by ditchparrot19

Huh. I can only think of about a million instances in which starting a putt 6 inches closer to the hole would've resulted in the ball being in the jar instead of requiring another stroke.

You never have putts break away from the hole over the final half a foot and miss by an inch or less? If not, you've got uncanny green-reading abilities.

I know a guy that moves the ball a few inches forward with his foot while other people are putting and he thinks nobody is watching. I've never seen him move it further from the hole though. Ha ha!

The same guy always tees his ball up about a foot in front of the tee markers... I can't see where he thinks he is getting an advantage so I don't have a clue why he does it. I've also never seen him lose a ball. If he hits the ball into the thickest brush around you can bet he'll find the ball, and somehow it's always in a little clear spot so he has a shot.

Worst of all is that he's the best player in the little daily money game he plays in and he doesn't need an advantage to beat those guys. I guess he just does it for insurance.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by ditchparrot19

Huh. I can only think of about a million instances in which starting a putt 6 inches closer to the hole would've resulted in the ball being in the jar instead of requiring another stroke.

You never have putts break away from the hole over the final half a foot and miss by an inch or less? If not, you've got uncanny green-reading abilities.

No I'm not a good putter and being just 6" closer likely wouldn't have an affect on how I read it. Problem being it's not likely I can repeat the exact stroke, striking the ball in the same spot and rolling the ball on the exact line at the same speed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by golf55

After you mark the ball on the putting green. The guy puts his ball like 6-7inches closer to the hole. What is the exact rule on this? I know it has to be exact spot as when you mark it but I know some people can be a inch off.

Maybe we could get Elliot Saltman to comment on this!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/jan/18/elliot-saltman-three-month-golf-ban

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I occasionally get paired with a guy that moves his ball around - never a bad lie, ball moves from thick greenside rough to the fringe.  He's coy about it.  I don't play him for money now that I've witnessed it.  Kind of frustrating at the end of the round when we are all comparing our scores and you know his requires an asterisk.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see this happen all the time, specially in competition play.

Only no one has the guts to say something about it.

I saw this happen with my opponent last week, i just asked him to replace the ball on the same spot as he

marked it. didn't happen again for the whole round he was looking at me every time he putt his ball back.

he didn't hole much. hehe

I'm not the man to let him putt and than claim the hole.  also in situation where was asked to remove the marker, when not

replaced to original spot i just ask to put it back. i just want a fair game and if i win it must be because i was playing better golf, not because

off rulings.

it's different when things happen as grounding in water hazards or bunkers.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe we could get Elliot Saltman to comment on this! [URL=http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/jan/18/elliot-saltman-three-month-golf-ban]http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/jan/18/elliot-saltman-three-month-golf-ban[/URL]

Unfortunately, that article doesn't say exactly what he was doing. Mark in front of ball, then ball in front of mark, etc... There are several ways to "not replace ball correctly". He could have been picking up his ball, then marking where it was. Then picking up the marker and placing the ball on the spot. No advantage, but it is incorrectly marking or replacing the ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by RayG

Unfortunately, that article doesn't say exactly what he was doing. Mark in front of ball, then ball in front of mark, etc... There are several ways to "not replace ball correctly". He could have been picking up his ball, then marking where it was. Then picking up the marker and placing the ball on the spot. No advantage, but it is incorrectly marking or replacing the ball.

From memory he was marking it significantly closer to the hole - a couple of inches and on several occasions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by RayG

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wansteadimp

Maybe we could get Elliot Saltman to comment on this!

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2011/jan/18/elliot-saltman-three-month-golf-ban

Unfortunately, that article doesn't say exactly what he was doing. Mark in front of ball, then ball in front of mark, etc... There are several ways to "not replace ball correctly". He could have been picking up his ball, then marking where it was. Then picking up the marker and placing the ball on the spot. No advantage, but it is incorrectly marking or replacing the ball.

a pro that gets caught cheating is like a scarlet letter - he'll never, ever live it down

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

a pro that gets caught cheating is like a scarlet letter - he'll never, ever live it down

Wasn't the point of "The Scarlet Letter" that, in her own way, she did live it down?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by jamo

Wasn't the point of "The Scarlet Letter" that, in her own way, she did live it down?

You mean you've actually read it? WTF are we supposed to do about that?

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the devil is in the details..he said "a scarlet letter instead of "THE scarlet letter" :D
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      Interesting. It seems to me that if the ball is in a tree, even when camera follows it, they do not alllw a drop without shaking the ball loose or pulling a Faldo. This happened to Rose this season, they could see a ball with binoculars. They heard it go in the tree but not come out. Had to re tee.
    • Irons, Irons, Irons!
      That's what I'm realizing.  I was at Dick's yesterday and now that all the new models are coming in the old one's are being discounted dramatically.  But I think I'm going to stick with the ping eye 2 irons since everyone seems to be at a consensus that they are fine to be starting out with.  However, I may be in the market for a driver because some of these drivers are so inexpensive right now. I'm considering the callaway xr or x2 because it's like 129 bucks or something.  Right now I play a nike ignite 450cc. I paid 20 bucks for it and it's been great the only thing is, I'm hearing some noise down by the hosel which i suspect isn't the best thing but the face isn't cracked or anything.  It sounds like there is sand in it.  Anyways, I appreciate all the feed back I'm new to site but really like the community of golfers and the fact I can get on here and really express any concerns or ask questions. 
    • My Swing (coop6)
      It pretty much is, I'm not going to debate 5 degrees with you. As I've said repeatedly, Tiger's swing and a standard swing do not require rotation. On this shot he rotated 5 degrees, not much. If you want to play with rotation to closed enjoy. I prefer to keep the club square. 
    • Struggles of turning pro
      http://thesandtrap.com/blogs/ Normally you must be an Established Member to create a blog, but I've enabled this for you now.
    • No Forearm Rotation - Biggest Swing Flaw?
      Completely bogus. The arms (forearms) rotate in every good golf swing. Here's an old thread that's appropriate for this discussion.   Also, I don't think I've ever really seen a golfer, throughout his backswing, rotate his forearms the opposite way. For short periods of time, maybe a few golfers "counter-rotate," but all end up rotating some. No, there won't be "arguments" over this, or there shouldn't be, because… like many things, this is pretty much a fact. There really doesn't need to be an argument or a discussion. It's a knowable, understandable thing. Hunter, like every other PGA Tour pro, rotates his forearms during the backswing. You're rotating your arms as you do this. It's subtle, but if you just pick the club up straight without rotating, you'll have the shaft resting against the top of your head. Look at where the back of your left hand points. Toward the target at setup, and then rotated to put the club on your right shoulder. Turn to the top when the club is on your face or the top of your head and the club will be leaning out over the target line (it'll be roughly parallel to your bend toward the ball, since it's basically just staying inline with your spine). Bending your right arm rotates your forearms. It pulls everything to the right (you can't bend your right arm straight in front of you without also bending your left arm). Then even more rotation is added after that. I agree that you don't want to be doing a lot of "things" on the downswing, but that's not how physics works. You can do all sorts of things on the backswing and not do them on the downswing. We have students who swing steep to steep, steep to shallow, shallow to steep, shallow to shallow, and all sorts of things. We have students who address the ball with a closed clubface, roll it way open, and then return it wide open, etc. The "equal and opposite" does not mean a delayed reaction - it means that if I push on something it will, right at that very moment, push back. If I fire rocket propulsion downward, the missile or space shuttle or whatever will move upward. You don't fire rockets and then, a week later, a different missile takes off as a "reaction." Furthermore, PGA Tour players have a variety of backswings. Ray Floyd was underneath, Rickie Fowler or Ryan Moore are steep or over the top on the backswing. The golfer who comes closest to the "square" or "no rotation" backswing is a guy who CAN'T really rotate his forearms: Tim Clark. And even Tim rotates some. But notice how far "out over his head" the clubhead is, despite the fact that he's well short of parallel on the backswing. It's so much more than that. I ask people in my lessons how much skill or raw natural talent it takes to set up properly. The correct answer: none. They just have to know how to do it. If golf was as simple as "set up properly and then turn" we'd all be a whole lot better than we are. Golfers can be set up the same and make very, very different backswings, and both can be successful. So Bubba is doing it wrong? And what does that have to do with the swing flaw of "rotating your forearms"? (Is overswinging a big problem? Absolutely. More, IMO, for what it tends to do to the trail elbow and the subsequent inability of the player to get the arms and hands down fast enough. I'll never really argue against overswinging, except when it's made as a blanket statement covering all golfers who go past parallel or something.) Also, you said (though it feels off topic since this is mostly about forearm rotation, n'est-ce pas?) "the more you have to wait for them to come down." That's not really true - you can MAKE them come down faster. Your arms aren't just limp things hanging from your shoulders that get dragged behind your hips and torso rotating. Because, biomechanically, making a swing with no forearm rotation would be ridiculous and resemble the golf swings of precisely no good players, ever. Tim Clark comes closest, and people don't even copy his swing, and if Tim Clark's forearms would rotate as most people's do, even Tim Clark would have a different golf swing. Modeling your golf swing on someone with a disability hardly seems like the prudent choice. My last piece of evidence, right here: This should drive the point home pretty significantly. Spoiler One last thing here. Consider the sagittal plane (in the spoiler above, just so it's not taking up a ton of space) and the back of the left hand (assuming a right-handed golfer). At address, they're parallel - the back of the left hand is parallel to the sagittal plane. Yet at the top of the backswing, what do we see? The sagittal plane (at the point of attachment of the arms, i.e. near the shoulders) is about 90° from where it started. It's inclined at about 35° or so, but otherwise just is still just a plane bisecting the sternum, neck, face, etc. What plane is the back of the left wrist on? Why, it's one that's about 90° to the sagittal plane. I've illustrated this here: In this illustration, I've drawn a little "cube" in the screen on the left. The green face of the cube is parallel to the sagittal plane (the edge of the plane is pointing "at the camera"). The blue side - perpendicular to the green side - is parallel to the back of the left hand. It too is pointing at the camera, but has rotated about 90°. That's why it's parallel to a perpendicular side of the cube. On the right, above, to make the back of Mike's left hand parallel the green face of the cube, he'd have to rotate his arms BACK about 90° to the red line. Now, then, @Golfer2223, you'd set a record as the first human being in history to present an argument as you have done and immediately recognize, given my response and a little thought on your part, that you want to take back your entire argument and completely change your position. In other words, I don't expect that to happen. A small part of me hopes it will some day, but I don't think today is going to be that day. But, realistically, that's what should happen. As I see it, you have no real ground to stand on here. Not biomechanically, not based on simple geometry, nothing. The arms rotate during the backswing in EVERY good player. Even in Tim Clark's backswing (or he'd truly have the club hanging out over his head. I will also say this, @Golfer2223: I appreciate your willingness to help, and to jump in, and to offer your thoughts on things. I hope you can take this rebuttal in the spirit in which it's intended - to help and to discuss. I don't know who you are (you should add more info to your profile), and I'm not responding just to be mean, but to help people learn, think critically, and better understand the golf swing. We encourage debate and discussion here, and that's all my response is to be taken as - more debate and discussion. Do I think I'm right? Yes. And I think I've backed up why. P.S. As someone noted above, often students need to feel like there's no rotation in the backswing. But that doesn't make it accurate.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries