• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Motown88

Two rules questions

10 posts in this topic

Two questions, one being easy and another being fairly complicated.

First one I believe I know the answer but just want verification since this hasn't happened before with me.  My ball today landed in a man made draining ditch on top of a bunch of rocks.  What is the draining ditch ruled as?  Despite not being marked it is considered a water hazard, correct me if I am wrong.

Secondly and what I believe is more complicated is as follows:

My opponent's (I'm using that term loosly) drop location for his ball was in the same location as where my ball laid.  I verbally alerted him that I was ready to play my shot and addressed my ball.  During my swing he threw a golf ball in my direction landing a few feet from mine which resulted in me shanking my shot.  Other then him illegally dropping his golf ball (this is how he normally drops and that's another issue), what is the ruling.  His action clearly distracted me during my swing, is he penalized?  What is my next action?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

No idea. Very interested to know both answers though. And what a jerk that clown you were playing with seems to be!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by sofingaw

No idea. Very interested to know both answers though. And what a jerk that clown you were playing with seems to be!

I'll defend him on that comment...It was a dumb move on his part and extremely stupid but it's never happened before.  Not sure what his thought process was but we play regularly and nothing similar has ever happened.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Haha ok fair enough. Sorry I don't know what the rules say.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Rulesman

The drainage ditch is a water hazard by definition. Relief under Rule 26

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/

The other is etiquette issue

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-33/#33-7

So is there any penalty for the second question?  Or is this something that is completely legal, kind of similar to the Tiger/Sergio senario.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Motown88

So is there any penalty for the second question?  Or is this something that is completely legal, kind of similar to the Tiger/Sergio senario.

No violation of a golf rule, however issues concerning etiquette can be addressed by the committee.  Under Rule 33-7 they have the option to impose a penalty of Disqualification if they feel the action in question warrants it.  I think meeting the standard for DQ under etiquette is pretty high, however

I think because it's match play, you still would have to make a claim before anyone teed off from the next tee.  Something, like "That was bullshit, you purposely threw the ball to distract me.  I want a ruling from the committee"  Could turn into "he said, she said", however.  I'm guessing the hole would be ruled to stand as played. If he was dropping the ball incorrectly that's different, I'd make a claim on that.  That is against the rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

No violation of a golf rule, however issues concerning etiquette can be addressed by the committee.  Under Rule 33-7 they have the option to impose a penalty of Disqualification if they feel the action in question warrants it.  I think meeting the standard for DQ under etiquette is pretty high, however

I think because it's match play, you still would have to make a claim before anyone teed off from the next tee.  Something, like "That was bullshit, you purposely threw the ball to distract me.  I want a ruling from the committee"  Could turn into "he said, she said", however.  I'm guessing the hole would be ruled to stand as played. If he was dropping the ball incorrectly that's different, I'd make a claim on that.  That is against the rules.

It was a casual round of golf, not match play.  I used the term opponent very loosly in my first post.  The issue I have is I post my scores for handicap and while 1 stroke isn't going to change much it's still an issue of what would have happened if the ball didn't land so close to me during my swing.  My playing partner (I'll use that term to hopefully avoid confusion) also posts his for handicap.  He didn't experience any poor result from that hole whereas I did.  I guess my question is, does this incident have any impact on our scores for handicap purpose.  I assume no, but would like someone who understands the rules better then me to answer it.

As for the illegal drop, it's something he always does and I never enforce it on him or correct him.  The way I look at it is if someone wants to bend the rules and still post for handicap that's on them.  Doesn't hurt me any, well...until today!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Quote:

Originally Posted by Motown88

So is there any penalty for the second question?  Or is this something that is completely legal, kind of similar to the Tiger/Sergio senario.

No violation of a golf rule, however issues concerning etiquette can be addressed by the committee.  Under Rule 33-7 they have the option to impose a penalty of Disqualification if they feel the action in question warrants it.  I think meeting the standard for DQ under etiquette is pretty high, however

I think because it's match play, you still would have to make a claim before anyone teed off from the next tee.  Something, like "That was bullshit, you purposely threw the ball to distract me.  I want a ruling from the committee"  Could turn into "he said, she said", however.  I'm guessing the hole would be ruled to stand as played. If he was dropping the ball incorrectly that's different, I'd make a claim on that.  That is against the rules.

This.  Etiquette violations usually require multiple overt acts to get any action, so one incident is unlikely to get you any satisfaction.  However, if he plays a stroke after an improper drop, he incurs a penalty stroke which should get you right back in the hole.  This is one case where I would probalby just stand mute and say nothing until he has committed the breach.  This guy needs to be taught a lesson.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Motown88

I guess my question is, does this incident have any impact on our scores for handicap purpose.  I assume no, but would like someone who understands the rules better then me to answer it.

You assume correct.  Distractions are a part of playing golf.  There is a decision in the rules that actually talks about this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Golf Evolution
  • Posts

    • Iron Game Suffers when Driver Going Well
      For high handicappers myself included, this is typical.   I think it is b/c we don't have the same swing for irons and longer clubs.  If we get them both right in the same round, it is probably by pure luck or coincidence.  Grin and bear, and enjoy the journey.
    • Jack or Tiger: Who's the Greatest Golfer?
      The topic title is the question who is the greatest golfer, the poll is the question who was the best. Two different things in my opinion. There's no doubt to me Tiger was a better golfer. How could he not? Spieth, McIlroy, Day but even guys like Wiesberger, Luiten and Donaldson play better golf than Jack. The game evolved so much over the years, and got so much more professional. If Jack would have been around in this era he would benefit from all that as well and be a better golfer than he was (and probably top those guys I just mentioned). But who was the greatest. How do you measure that (can you)? Tiger was dominant in a stronger field, winning more titles than you can count. Jack was the first of a kind, winning the biggest titles (majors) over an enourmous span and having the most of them. Isn't it mostly a matter of personal who you find 'greater'? For me Johan Cruyff is the greatest Dutch football player of time, but I have no doubt that Dennis Bergkamp and Arjen Robben were/are better because the game evolved. 
    • Making a Murderer Discussion Thread (Spoilers Likely)
      Obvisously... she took his case about a month ago. On one hand I hope Avery is guilty as hell, on the other hand it would be an amazing story and twist if turns out to be set up and she can prove that. I think that chance is less than 1%, but still..... Possibly, good point. Should be quite some blood though since they found 'drops', meaning it was dripping from (in this theory) his glove. Exactly my point. I don't think the blood was freely flowing, because than there should be a lot more blood in the car. They found blood consisting with bloody hair. Seems to me, and I know I'm not an expert, that she was already dead when she was in the car, because that would explain the little amount of blood found (no pumping of the heart, no flow of blood) and the place it was found (in the back). One can easily argue that he killed in the garage, moved her to the car, and only then got the plan to burn her instead and moved her again; to the pit. But the 'problem' is that that's not what the DA said what happenend. In my opinion that blood in the car contradicts the story (or truth) he wants us and the jury to believe, and contradicts also with the story of Dassey which is the only thing that links Dassey to the case: his own words. That doesn't mean Avery is innocent, but it might raise some doubt. The DA should stick with the facts, not filling in the blanks with guessing. If he can't prove exact chronologically he shouldn't state it as 'fact'.   Absolutely. I'm not convinced in anything, not in my opinion, not in yours, not at all in the people who made the documentary. Also not a fan of conspiracy theory's. I don't think the murder was planted on him, but I do think some mistakes were made by the justice system. Mistakes that possibly should have lead to his and maybe even more Dassey's release, even though there's a big chance he did it. That's for me perhaps the most interesting part in this case and in the discussion. If we want a justice system where the chance is close to 0% that we convict someone innocent, and the prosecution and police need to follow the rules, it means sometimes the guilty walk free. I think everything they found on the compount while Manitowoc detectives were present should have been excluded. I think the DNA on the blood of the bullet should have been excluded. I think the 'confession' of Dassey should have been excluded. I think Dassey should have given at least a new trial, but that was denied by the same judge which handled his initial case (?!).
    • Jack or Tiger: Who's the Greatest Golfer?
      A long time ago, by Tiger's own admission,  said a golfer's career is measured by "majors won" . So if Woody does not break Jack's major record, then according to Woody, his career will be second to Jack's. Now Jack has said that he expects (expected) Woody to break his major record. So Jack is saying he expects Woody will have the better career.  These are the only two guys who would know who had the best career.   Neither one is going to be the GOAT. They will just be a GOTE. 
    • Jack or Tiger: Who's the Greatest Golfer?
      Nope, you blindly worship Jack.  It is obvious that you have not read much, if any, of the thread.  But hey, you saw Jack.  In person, yet.  So what.  I did too.  I saw him win his last USGA championship at Cherry Hills.  I saw Tiger play as well - although in person I only saw practice rounds.  So what.  That does not make my assessment of their respective careers more or less credible.  Geee, I never saw Hogan play so I guess we cannot count him in the discussion.   You think Jack was better.  That is fine.  You are entitled to your opinion.  Just don't spoil it with specious reasons or arguments.  Because those we will slice apart like one of Klinger's salamis.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    No users celebrating today
  • Blog Entries