Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
scrilla

no contact stroke penalty?

6 posts in this topic

Hey I was playing with my friend yesterday and we came across an interesting situation. He sliced a ball that eneded up in some tall grass. We went over and the ball was sitting quite high up in the grass, well above his feet. So he took his swing, managed to swing completley under the ball, removing all the tall gras and the ball just dropped right in the same place. He never made contact with the ball. Is this a penalty? We just played it as if it was a pracice swing since we were not playing competiviley or for money or anything like that.

Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Originally Posted by scrilla

Hey I was playing with my friend yesterday and we came across an interesting situation. He sliced a ball that eneded up in some tall grass. We went over and the ball was sitting quite high up in the grass, well above his feet. So he took his swing, managed to swing completley under the ball, removing all the tall gras and the ball just dropped right in the same place. He never made contact with the ball. Is this a penalty? We just played it as if it was a pracice swing since we were not playing competiviley or for money or anything like that.

Thanks

Stroke counts. Rules of Golf define a stroke as a forward movement of the club with the intent of striking the ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by geauxforbroke

Stroke counts. Rules of Golf define a stroke as a forward movement of the club with the intent of striking the ball.

Thank you sir, looks like he will be switching his dreadful 52 to a 53 haha

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, there's no penalty, it's just a stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by scrilla

We just played it as if it was a pracice swing since we were not playing competiviley or for money or anything like that.

Thanks

A few other comments:

1. The amount of money involved doesn't change the Rules of Golf.

2. The penalties incurred by (a)moving the ball and not replacing it and (b)improving the lie both worse (2 strokes) than counting the whiff.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by fr0sty

A few other comments:

1. The amount of money involved doesn't change the Rules of Golf.

2. The penalties incurred by (a)moving the ball and not replacing it and (b)improving the lie both worse (2 strokes) than counting the whiff.

I understand the rules don't change. What I was trying to say was since neither of us knew the correct ruling and there was literally nothing on the line so we just let it go. While something like a foot wedge is against the rules, I'm sure you would care a bit more on a match for $100, than if your buddy at the local muni did it when you were just out to have some fun.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0