IGNORED

Fairway Wood advice ... for a true beginner

Note: This thread is 3937 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello everyone-

I am brand new to the game of golf  ... bought my first set of irons about a month ago. I own Mizuno JPX 825 irons. Right now, considering my early experience with the sport - I hit my irons decently well. I am now looking for something I can hit off the tee (drivers and 3 woods do not work for me.) I'm interested in making a 5 wood purchase. At this time distance is not as important as accuracy and forgiveness of the club. I've done some reading online and the clubs that I am considering include: Ping G25 5 wood, Mizuno JPX 825 5 wood, and the Adams Super S 5 wood.

I've read great things about the Adams Super S - But I believe this club may be for the more experienced golf, and would have less forgiveness than the other 2 mentioned - is that correct?

Does anyone have experience playing 1 or maybe all 3 of the listed 5 woods? Any feedback?

I appreciate your insight, and feedback. I look forward to learning more and enjoying the game of golf!

You have to persevere with a driver. Try something like a Ping K15 which is incredibly forgiving. Try not to hit it too hard. You will eventually regret thinking that distance doesn't matter, and if you are hitting hybrids off tees you will suffer in the wind. Try to hit your driver 150 meters which will stop you over swinging and you'll be surprised how far you do hit it. Unles you are hitting drivers, on proper courses you will have to play very well to beak 90 because you won't be hitting par 4s in regulation. Adams super hybrids are terrific clubs and you might get one instead of a fairway wood. Good luck!

In the race of life, always back self-interest. At least you know it's trying.

Use Shorty's advice as a starting point.