• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
0ldblu3

Does Lefty's win in Scotland hurt or help him for the British?

0   20 votes

  1. 1. Lefty wins Scotish open, help or hurt?

    • This helps him at the British!
      16
    • Sorry, peaked to soon
      4

Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

28 posts in this topic

It's the same type of golf, but the field isn't as strong. Beating Brandon Grace in a playoff isn't really the type of performance that will win you a British Open. Did he peak too soon, so to speak or is this the shot in the arm that will get him to a win?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

He didn't just beat Branden Grace.

How can you criticise a win and say it " isn't really the type of performance that will win you a British Open"?

What can you ask the man to do except beat whoever shows up? He did it.

Also, Branden Grace is one of the hottest players in the world. He won 4 times on the European Tour in 2012.

This is about as ridiculous as saying that Tiger's wins are minimised because he "picks and chooses" his events.

Phil has as much chance as anybody in the field, and a lot more because he knows how to play the ball with imagination and enjoys this kind of golf.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't see how it could possibly hurt him...

This.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

He didn't just beat Branden Grace. How can you criticise a win and say it " isn't really the type of performance that will win you a British Open"? What can you ask the man to do except beat whoever shows up? He did it. Also, Branden Grace is one of the hottest players in the world. He won 4 times on the European Tour in 2012. This is about as ridiculous as saying that Tiger's wins are minimised because he "picks and chooses" his events. Phil has as much chance as anybody in the field, and a lot more because he knows how to play the ball with imagination and enjoys this kind of golf.

[quote name="Chilli Dipper" url="/t/68450/does-leftys-win-in-scotland-hurt-or-help-him-for-the-british#post_867801"]I don't see how it could possibly hurt him...[/quote] ^^^^^^ Both right ^^^^^^

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Great poll question. I am a bit superstitious in this regard, because I think it hurts him. Phil is a bit different as he has won before and then won a major, but for most golfers not named Tiger it usually means they don't win the next week at the major. Phil was not one of my favorites going in, and this didn't change that. I would love to see him win it after the heartbreak at the US Open.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

This event was a tune-up for the British and Phil is firing on all 8 cylinders now. His confidence will be high so hopefully he contends. This win only helps in preparing him for the Open.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3-putt from 15 feet on 18 when he needs par to win probably sums up how the Scottish reflects on Phil's chances at Muirfield.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

A win never hurts and Phil's playing well, but I think he's peaked too soon. It's hard to win two weeks in a row, especially when that second win would be a major you've never won before. It doesn't mean I'm rooting for him any less than I normally would though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

How can it NOT help him? Aside from the actual win, he's just played 4 competitive rounds on a Scottish links in conditions which are likely to be very similar to Muirfield. I'd say that puts him in a better place than many of his contemporaries who, I'd suggest, might have been better served by also being in the Scottish Open field last week.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He goes into it on a high note with a win, instead of just thinking about how he blew the US open. Definitely helps him...also proves that he can play the kind of golf that will be needed next weekend.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I doubt he wins at Muirfield. His record in The Open is not strong and IMO Castle Stuart is a different type of links course than many at least from what I watched on TV. There didn't seem to be as many fairway bunkers which dictate strategy off of the tee on a links course. Plus, this was not as strong a field as you will see at Muirfield.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a bit off topic, but did anyone else find the coverage really boring? I actually changed the channel and didn't come back to it. Not sure if it's the euro announcers or what, but I haven't switched off a golf tournament...well...I can't remember ever doing it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I predict that it will help him every bit as much as victory has assisted past Scottish Open Champions in conquering the British Open the next week - we all know how many times there's been a back-to-back winner...  well, uhhmmm... that number would be zero.  So historically, Phancy Phil just guaranteed a lack of success.

I caught the last few holes and the playoff on Sunday and agreed that the coverage seemed dull, not just from the low light toward the end of the day.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I predict that it will help him every bit as much as victory has assisted past Scottish Open Champions in conquering the British Open the next week - we all know how many times there's been a back-to-back winner...  well, uhhmmm... that number would be zero.  So historically, Phancy Phil just guaranteed a lack of success. I caught the last few holes and the playoff on Sunday and agreed that the coverage seemed dull, not just from the low light toward the end of the day.

He didn't "guarantee" anything.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by JetFan1983

A win never hurts and Phil's playing well, but I think he's peaked too soon. It's hard to win two weeks in a row, especially when that second win would be a major you've never won before. It doesn't mean I'm rooting for him any less than I normally would though.

I'm a genius clearly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

He goes into it on a high note with a win, instead of just thinking about how he blew the US open. Definitely helps him...also proves that he can play the kind of golf that will be needed next weekend.

Ding ding ding!!!! :-P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      You're exactly right. At first I meant we were told to re tee if we could not find it, meaning unplayable stroke and distance, same as a lost ball but obviously you must call the correct penalty. But that makes no sense because it would just be a free drop if certain the ball was in. But what ACTUALLY occured was because of the cold and forecast of pouring rain (which happened) they made an odd rule where we could re tee without penalty if we saw the ball go in. So I did not do the free re tee, which someone in the group did a few holes before, beause we were not sure, AND we didn't rake it out, so it was declared a lost ball. But the other kid who did not do a re tee because he thought he saw his ball clear the sand, took a free drop without finding it, all within the rules. The bunker was on the right side of the fairway so my line was further and to the right of the kid who took the drop, who hit it straight and short. All i can vividly remember is us standing in the pouring rain and cold, dragging rakes through a bunker full of deep water, and finding every other golf ball! Crazy!  I think you got to the real oddity where an unidentified unplayable is the same penalty as a lost ball, but called something different. Unless there is some difference? I guess if it is found before you hit the next shot you would not be able to play it where it lies in the unplayable scenario, granted you did not declare the lost ball lost yet (then no penalty). Is there any other difference? I guess both you can tee it up after the penalty, and you still can't go more than 2 clubs behind the tee markers in the unplayable scenario I believe. Wonder if there are any other differences between lost ball and unplayable but unidentified.
    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      I think we are talking about a couple of different things.  First, I don't really understand the "local rule" you were given in your tournament with regards to the flooded bunkers.  When you say re tee, did they tell you to play your stroke over with no penalty.  Can't do that. As far as declaring a ball unplayable, this is different than taking relief for Casual Water.  You may in fact declare a ball unplayable without finding it, but in this case, you must play your next stroke from the spot where you played your last.  (Stroke and Distance)  If you think about it, its the same procedure as if you were to lose your ball.  Under the ball unplayable rule there is a one stroke penalty. Iacas gave you the rule for taking relief from casual water in a bunker.  In order to do this, it must be known or virtually certain the ball is in the casual water.  
    • My Swing (coop6)
      @coop6. You're right about opening up too fast. I should have worded differently. It's not that your body isn't moving where it needs to move. It's that your arms aren't moving with your body enough. Or you might say the body isn't inluencing the motion of the arms. Try the Dufner towel under arms drill, it's an extreme drill but it will help this. Your body rotation has to help turn the club back to square, that is the whole idea, feel the body and upper arms turning the club back. Once that happens you won't have to flip the club shut right after impact.
    • My Swing (coop6)
      @iacas see it now
    • My Swing (adragon0216)
      There is no such thing as a strong grip. There is a stronger left hand or stronger right hand. If you strengthen the right hand grip this will help close the face. If you weaken the left hand grip this will also help close the face, though less so. Stand taller and flatten the swing out until you are older. Don't try to be so bent over at the hips at impact. Take lessons so you don't get hurt swinging this way. Your shoulders should turn level through the ball. Like I said don't increase the bend from the hips at impact.    
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries