• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Crockme

Marking ground in front of ball as an intermediate target

14 posts in this topic

Off the green when chipping or hitting an iron, I like to use intermediate targets within 2 feet of my ball on the target line to assist with alignment, aim, and confidence during the swing. However, sometimes when I look down nothing jumps out at the eye that is perfectly on-line.

Quick research on the rules of golf state that you can't place anything on the ground and leave it there during the swing to help aim.  So one time during my previous round, when I did n' t see anything helpful on the target line within 2 feet of mall, I just thumped my club on the ground in front of the ball, right along the target line. It barely left a mark and wouldn't be noticeable to anyone but me, as it only slightly smashed the grass down.  It served it's purpose, but after doing it I felt guilty and didn't do it again.  Is this illegal?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I'll just say yes it is illegal and I'm sure someone else will explain why.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Illegal. 8-2. Indicating Line Of Play a. Other Than on Putting Green Except on the putting green, a player may have the line of play indicated to him by anyone, but no one may be positioned by the player on or close to the line or an extension of the line beyond the hole while the stroke is being made. Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What you did amounts to the same thing as if you had placed something on your line of play.  Any mark or alignment aid placed on the ground to assist the player in alignment must be removed prior to playing his stroke.  Since what you did was not removable, you were in breach of Rule 8-2a and incurred a 2 stroke penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To clarify, hitting the ground is interpreted as placing a mark imo.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To clarify, hitting the ground is interpreted as placing a mark imo.

If it leaves a mark it is making a mark. No interpretation is needed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not legal, pretty clear. I use the intermediate target on almost every shot. It's not always that easy to find something that stick out, but I don't have that much trouble with it.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Kinda figured. Thanks gents!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey related question, i do something similar to keegan Bradley's routine (without all the footwork). I lay the club behind the ball, with the leading edge pointing at my target. Sometimes the grass doesn't pop back up. I'm just wondering if this is indicating a line of play?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey related question, i do something similar to keegan Bradley's routine (without all the footwork). I lay the club behind the ball, with the leading edge pointing at my target. Sometimes the grass doesn't pop back up. I'm just wondering if this is indicating a line of play?

Read the rule. Does it indicate a line or is it just grass laying down? If it is immediately behind the ball then it might be other rules you need to consult (improving lie).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's usually something that can be used as an intermediate aiming point... it might not be obvious at first glance but... there's going to be something... like a blade of grass that isn't following along with the grass around it, or is off color, or is a tiny bit longer or shorter...

unless you're playing on a much better course than I am and everything on and around the green is perfectly manicured and absolutely gorgeous... in which case I'm envious.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey related question, i do something similar to keegan Bradley's routine (without all the footwork). I lay the club behind the ball, with the leading edge pointing at my target. Sometimes the grass doesn't pop back up. I'm just wondering if this is indicating a line of play?

I would think the answer is "it depends."  If someone feels you are intentionally allowing the grass to be pressed down by your club in order to use that as alignment aid during your swing, they could claim it as a violation.  Or as stated, depending on the distance behind the ball you are laying the club, they could claim you are improving your lie.  But similarly, if one takes a practice swing parallel to their ball, one could claim they are using the divot as an alignment aid.  But in both that case and your case, they'd have to convince an official or the committee the act was a deliberate attempt to indicate line of play.

Best thing to do if you feel there is any possibility your actions could be construed incorrectly is not to do them or modify them so there can be no question.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's a rule, therefore it is.

but I find this one silly - there's always something to line up with.

On the other hand, using something that's already there is different in principle than placing a foreign object

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Nothing to add other than the sooner you learn to eyeball an intermediate target the better player you will be. It's part of my routine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Golf Evolution
  • Posts

    • TST Member Review - The Tee Claw
      Product Name: The Tee Claw
      Product Type: Tee Holder for Golf Mats
      Product Website/URL: www.teeclaw.com
      Cost: $15 Ratings (out of 5):
      Quality: 4
      Value: 4
      Effectiveness: 4
      Durability: tbd
      Esthetic Appeal: 4   Link to Discussion Thread   My Member Revie I was able to take the Tee Claw to one of our open local ranges on Sunday. As stated above, I cut down a few tees ahead of time to the right height so I wouldn't have to do it at the range. I set the Tee Claw in the mat below then put my driver next to it to get the right height. This mat is an All Turf mat, which is similar to the Real Feel mats with a little less dense weave. The mat is made of woven fibers. At the range, the first thing I noticed was this range has two types of mats; a cheap imitation turf mat where the rubber tee goes and a tighter weave mat. The Tee Claw had no issue with the woven mat, but would not grab the cheap mat fibers. The video below shows this. The cheap mat only has fibers that run vertically and are not woven together. Undaunted, I used the woven mat for the test. I set the Tee Claw up with just one lanyard pulled straight back. This distance is about 30 inches. I hooked the tee under the mat with a tee as is suggested in the Tee Claw site video. The tee fits snug into the Tee Claw base. I used my driver to test the set up. The Tee Claw moved after the shot, but the tee stayed in place. I was worried that I would lose the tee, but this didn't happen. This will save on tees if this happens routinely. I took three swings with this set up. The Tee Claw came loose after the shot, but stayed on the mat.
      Next, I set up the Tee Claw with two lanyards. The second lanyard was set up as a guide for my swing path. This will come in handy as a training aid.
      After hitting, the tee stayed in. The Tee Claw moved. You can see below, it recoiled and twisted a bit. It took a few seconds to untangle it and set it back up. If you are the kind of player who rapid fire hits balls, this may get annoying. But if you are like me and take your time, the extra set up time is not an issue. If I am doing slow motion drills, I would use the rubber tee. But once I am hitting to observe ball flight, I would use the Tee Claw instead.
      Lastly, mats seem to be the key for the Tee Claw to work. Good mats with a weave work the best. I have two mats at home, the All Turf mat I showed above and one I got when buying a Birdie Ball net. They are below. I apologize for not cleaning the dead grass off the mat! It was cold out. The Tee Claw had no issues with either of these mats. I would take the mat type into consideration when you purchase the Tee Claw.
      At $15, the Tee Claw is not a big investment and worth the money for being able to set your tee height while practicing on mats. I've resorted to cutting down rubber tees to the right height before, but this is a better way. Try it out!
    • Claim Your Achievements Here!
      Got them all. I gave you the "Broke 80" award. All set! Congratulations to all who have claimed their awards so far!
    • My Swing (PhraseUniverse)
      Thanks for the advice. I will work on this over the week and post another video this weekend. 
    • Quitting a round early - Why Would You Quit?
      I can't recall ever quitting for a reason other than rain.  And I will play through a certain amount, especially if I have a cart with a windshield.
    • New GolfNow layout is Awful
      Maybe part of why I don't mind this layout is I just use the find courses near me option and just check hot deals. I rarely travel far to play considering there are at least 30 public courses within 20 miles of me. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    No users celebrating today
  • Blog Entries