IGNORED

Questions about my calaway forged wedge.

Note: This thread is 3911 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I recently purchased my first forged wedge. It is a calaway forged 60 degree wedge with 9 degrees bounce. I have been playing an old set of Watson wedges for probably about 5 years. It was one of those set of 3 wedges for about 50 bucks. I bought the forged wedge based on sale price and reviews. I was hitting my Watson wedges ok I just thought I needed something with a little newer technology. This is my forged club of any kind and have a few questions. This club feels hard as a rock. Is this normal for a forged club. My old wedge seemed a lot softer. Now let me say distance is better and club produces more spin but hard for me to get used to the hard feel. I blade new wedge more than my old. Old wedge has 7 degree bounce verses 9 on the new one. Is that enough to cause me to blade more often. Any have opinions on this?

Forged doesnt always mean softer.  Softness is more in the metal that is used and somewhat in the specifics of the forging process.  Depending upon what temperature you forge the metal at, it can effect how soft or hard the metal is.

For the rest of it, 2 degrees of bounce shouldnt be enough to make you blade it all the time.  It could be that the weighting is different and that is throwing you off somehow.  You may just need to give it a little while for you to get used to

Whats in my :sunmountain: C-130 cart bag?

Woods: :mizuno: JPX 850 9.5*, :mizuno: JPX 850 15*, :mizuno: JPX-850 19*, :mizuno: JPX Fli-Hi #4, :mizuno: JPX 800 Pro 5-PW, :mizuno: MP T-4 50-06, 54-09 58-10, :cleveland: Smart Square Blade and :bridgestone: B330-S

Originally Posted by tigerfan44