• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
malincanada

"The pin was in play" - Anyone heard of this before?

18 posts in this topic

Hi Folks.

Fairly new here and enjoy reading peoples thoughts and stories so I thought I'd share this one and see if anyone else had ever come across it before:

A friend of mine was playing at a local par 3 course and on the final hole he hit his tee shot which struck the pin and ended up a few feet away.

As he walked up several people around the green congratulated him on his "Hole in One".


Apparently the 'rule' at the final hole on this course is that "The pin is in play" so if your ball hits it with your tee shot it counts as being holed! I must emphasise that this is very much a recreational course. I don't imagine anyone there is using this rule for handicapping purposes so I'm not bothered about the 'correctness' of this 'local rule'.

He even has a plaque commemorating it:

I've asked a few people who've played golf for many years and none of them have heard of it before. However, all of these people, myself included, have played the majority of their golf in the UK.

Is this something people in North America have seen before/regularly?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I don't think this is something many people have heard of. I know I haven't, as a matter of fact, if this rule was real/in effect I would have gotten a HIO before rofl. Actually, last night I may have dropped the ball in the hole from the tee and it bounced out because I saw my ball bounce up as high as the flag stick and roll to the back of the green but couldn't find any ball marks on the green to attribute to my shot... Of course nobody was there to confirm my story so it's just a whatever story.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I wish. I'd have two hole in ones then.

To answer your question, No. Nobody counts that over here

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So only 15 people have hit the pin in 7 years?  Sounds phenomenal.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is very odd. I've never heard of this rule. As many above, I'd have a few myself and have witnessed it happen many times by others too. Also, if this happened to me while playing some new course, I would not consider it a hole-in-one even if others at the course were congratulating me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The only explanation I can imagine for this would be that it is related to buying drinks.

Given that it's the final hole, the idea would be "Too bad. It's not an ace but you hit the flag. You still have to buy the drinks. Ha ha!"

Other than that, why not say a shot into the bunker is an eagle. It's just stupid.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

that would have to be the dumbest thing i have ever heard of a course doing lol. i always thought the ball had to be in the hole when you got there to be a hole in one not some were on the green after hitting the flag. i wanna play there so i can helpfully get my first hole in 1

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by spam

that would have to be the dumbest thing i have ever heard of a course doing lol. i always thought the ball had to be in the hole when you got there to be a hole in one not some were on the green after hitting the flag. i wanna play there so i can helpfully get my first hole in 1

Lol, yeah, if anything they'd count a ball that landed in and bounced out a HIO not one that hit the flag :-P BUT it's a par 3 course for fun and they can make their own rules because who cares really, right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Wait! Does this mean Tiger won the 2013 Masters?????

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Ernest Jones

Wait! Does this mean Tiger won the 2013 Masters?????

haha - afraid not. I believe it was only designed as a rule for the final hole! :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is ridiculous.  I'm not completely sure how the whole "local rules" things work.  But aren't there limitations on what rules or procedures in golf cannot be changed by a local rule?  This is akin to stating that a course has a local rule that you can take "breakfast balls" off the first tee.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I had hit the shot when they started congratulating me my first thought would be that I was on Candid Camera and once I realized they were serious I would tell them they were out of their minds.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies everyone. I'm pleased to see that the general feeling matches my own disbelief upon hearing about this! The commemorative plaque really sealed the greatness of the story for me.

I count myself lucky that my friend is very much a non-golfer and cannot really appreciate the frustration of a golfer of 30+ years who has never had a hole-in-one hearing about his 'success'.

If he knew he would assuredly wind me up about it a lot more often!!

To be fair to the course it sounds like a fun place ran by a local couple - http://hackershavenpar3.com I don't think they have any illusions that their course would ever be affiliated with Golf Canada for handicapping purposes etc etc.

I imagine they brought this in as a gimmick as they liked the idea of the 'Honor Roll' but realised that they would probably only be putting up a plaque once every couple of years if they insisted on actual holes-in-one!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Looks like those guys need a capital L behind their handicap index.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sweet, I now have 13 career holes in one.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And I have a lot more chip-ins than I thought.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I played with some guys today, one of them hit the pin on a 30 yard chip shot, guess we should have counted that as a birdie 3. Still was an amazing shot though and hell of a par save.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0