IGNORED

Playing fast? New to golf, Austin TX

morssolis
Note: This thread is 3896 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

First, hello

I am new to golf and started playing about 6 weeks ago. I hit at the range about 5 times a week and have now played about 7 rounds in the last 2 weeks. I do not keep score but normally get a few pars, and a putt for birde (i always miss) a few times a round. So what I mean is, I can get the ball in the air and in the general direction it needs to go.

I have been playing at a local muni where I get a half off price after 4pm. Every day I go though, the course is filled. I try to play as a single, and if I do, I cant even play through because there is a group everywhere on the course. It takes 4.5 hours a round with a group or without. On a very hot day, and probably some luck, I was able to play an open course and finished in about 2-2.5 hours.

A 4.5 hours round with a random group is sometimes fun, other times not so much. Either way, it takes way too long.

I am starting graduate school at UT this coming week, and I will simply not have the time to play 2 rounds of 4.5 hour golf a week. I will have time to play 2-2.5 hour golf several times a week though.

My question is: when is the best time to play on the weekdays ( I assume less busy) and how can I play quickly as a single? If the course is filled my understanding is that there is no way to play a quick round. I also do not have a lot of spare cash to be paying premium tee times.

I am new to this sport and it is frustrating the crap out of me because of the time.