IGNORED

Do you lose anything with the "easy to hit" hynrid.

Note: This thread is 3867 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am fairly new to the game and have been doing a little research on hybrids. There are many claims that they are forgiving and easy to hit. First of all is this true? Have you found them that much easier to hit than a long iron? Do you lose anything for what you could potentially gain? With most things in life you cant have it all! As a very high handicap player would you play hybrids with the intention of someday returning to long irons? Thanks in advance! !!

Hybrids are easier to hit for the vast majority of golfers.  They fly higher and further and land softer than the equivalent iron.

I'll never return to long irons.....

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

While they are easier to hit for the majority of golfers than irons, within the hybrid category, some are easier than others. Others are more demanding.

You must demo - Since hybrids have made their debut, manufacturers began lengthening shafts, making them more difficult to hit well.

Demo.

Ping G400 Max 9/TPT Shaft, TEE EX10 Beta 4, 5 wd, PXG 22 HY, Mizuno JPX919F 5-GW, TItleist SM7 Raw 55-09, 59-11, Bettinardi BB39

Hybrids are easier to hit because the weighting makes it easier to get the ball up in the air (their design wants to hit the ball higher) and their rounded leading edge makes them not dig into the turf as much.

Whats in my :sunmountain: C-130 cart bag?