IGNORED

Fell in love with the short game

Stargaze
Note: This thread is 3885 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing for about 3 years now.  The first couple of years I played maybe 12 times, this past year I've been playing as often as I can, maybe 14 or 16 times so far this year.  I got an unlimited range pass at my local golf course and made the decision to work almost exclusively on my short game.  So I spent hours and hours with a wedge in my hand, then over to the practice green to putt for hours and hours.  You get the idea.

I play my 2 buddies from work and blow them away.  I was making GIR's left and right, birdie opportunities that I never had before.  I honestly no longer care all that much about the driver, I care much more now about my irons and especially my game inside 90 yards of the pin.  It really makes a world of difference.

I'm not sure I totally understand.  I think of short game as something that you have to use if you don't get the GIR - not something that gets you the GIR.  If all of your approach shots are within the 90 yards you mentioned, I'd say you have a very good long game and that is the reason you are killing your friends.

Having said that, I also like short game.  Feel confident when chipping.  But I think it is just because it always came easier to me than long game.  I never practice it.  Given the chance, I'd like to be a guy who crushed it off the tee.  But since I'm not, yeah - I like short game.

One of the guys in our group certainly loved the "short game" today.

He chipped in from 50 yards on the drivable par 4 first hole for an eagle, chipped in from 10 yards for par on the seventh, and chipped in from 60 yards on the par 5 eighth hole for another eagle. He uses one of those chipping irons that looks like a cross between a putter and a hybrid.