• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BowieWow

"Blow the Pro"

28 posts in this topic

My lady friend does not believe that some golf guys use the term "blow the pro" if their drive does not reach the Women's tees. Further, she does not believe that the joking penalty is for the perpetrator to whip out his "guy," walk backwards down the green, in a so-called "trolling" fashion. The final joke is that you have to "Blow the Pro" who is on the desk at the end of the game.

My golf buddies have been using this for years. Can I have some comments? I am representing myself as a "Pro" to her with a 17 handicap.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Traditionally the rest of the hole is played with the short driver's club hanging out of his zipper. And yes your lady friend obviously owes you a favor.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never heard of it.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Your lady friend is correct. A) never heard of it And more importantly B) that is really dumb
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Your lady friend is correct.

A) never heard of it

And more importantly

B) that is really dumb

This

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I've heard about having to play out the hole with your business hanging out - I've heard it referred to as playing "dickies". But I've never seen it actually done and definitely never heard of the rest of what you describe.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

well basically from the first day i started playing golf years ago, the rule was if you didnt make it past the ladies tee, you had to play the rest of the hole with your pants down....  not whipping out Mr Winky

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you TJ for your immediate input. I have read numerous golf slang sites and thought I was losing my mind!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That is fair David and "pants down" might be a regional thing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are correct "Amazing whacker" - it is a joke, but i was merely trying to establish that this guy's slang was based upon this factual situation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course it is dumb, particularly if you are from Des Moines, Iowa. It never happens de facto. It is a joke, but my question addressed the fact that the "golf slang" exists and the responses you can review will verify the same.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh and as a lawyer, let me applaud your topical outline!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Never heard of the pro bit, it's usually whip it out and hit your next shot.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not that I've had this issue for some time, but I used to just to up to my ball and hit my second shot.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by iacas

Never heard of it.

Originally Posted by Golfingdad

Your lady friend is correct.

A) never heard of it

And more importantly

B) that is really dumb

Yes and yes.

Originally Posted by AmazingWhacker

I've heard about having to play out the hole with your business hanging out - I've heard it referred to as playing "dickies". But I've never seen it actually done and definitely never heard of the rest of what you describe.

It was called the Texas Rule when I heard it mentioned, the the blowing was never part of anything.  I heard it mentioned by one guy, once in 40 years.  I've played a few courses where the separation between the tips and and the forward tees was more than 200 yards.  You could hit a decent drive and still not clear the danger zone.  Dumb idea - dumb rule.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Heard of the whip out part, but not the blowing part- nice try, especially if she goes for it.  Do you have her playing the tips?

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've only heard of the Texas rule, strictly whip it out. I don't even know what walking backwards in a trolling fashion means, and I've never heard of the pro getting so intimately involved with the players! I think your lady friend should win this debate, as your variation is not very widespread.
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Dumb idea - dumb rule.

Yes, and Fourputt is the authority on rules in my book. I don't think the USGA is debating this one either!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0