IGNORED

Newbie question about balls

Note: This thread is 3862 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a total newbie to golf and so far have just been using what balls I can scrounge.  I've heard, though, that it's better to stick to one ball to get a feel for how it plays consistently.

I have a neighbor who puts in an order at lostgolfballs.com each year and I'm thinking that I may tag on to his order and get some Sixron Soft feels, but am looking for something cheap in the mean time.  Right now Golf Galaxy has a few on sale, and I'm wondering if it makes a bit of difference for an absolute beginner which I get.

The cheapest they have are Top Flight XL, but they also have deal on Slazengers (Distance, Distance Straight, Distance Extreme, and Distance Feel).  Is there any significant reason I should spend a bit more on the Slazengers, or should I lose the cheapest ball possible for now?

I also had a question on practice balls.  Are the plastic ones ok, or are the foam ones better?  I want to have something to whack around the yard.

These are my opinions.

1) Unless your swing is consistent, playing the same ball will not matter much.  Sure it could help some, but definitely should not be high on your list of priorities as a beginner.

2) The foam balls are better than plastic.  The plastic ones do not hold up long, especially if you want to hit them with a driver.  A good practice ball that I like is the "birdie ball".  It does not really look like a ball, but it mimics curvature well.

Welcome to TST.

-Matt-

"does it still count as a hit fairway if it is the next one over"

DRIVER-Callaway FTiz__3 WOOD-Nike SQ Dymo 15__HYBRIDS-3,4,5 Adams__IRONS-6-PW Adams__WEDGES-50,55,60 Wilson Harmonized__PUTTER-Odyssey Dual Force Rossie II

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by 14ledo81