Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jon Foy

Wrongly Accused....

13 posts in this topic

Hi Guys

I played in the 3rd Round of the Nike match play event (formerly Volvo). I started off terribly and found myself 4 down after the first 6 holes. Anyway a combination and a near faultless back 9 and my opponent making some mental errors forces the match to into 2 play off holes. On the second play off hole I won by holing a 30 foot put for birdie.

The guy shakes my hand then as were walking back across the course he starts muttering then he said "i think you didn't play the right ball on the 18th, i think you cheated!"

I was gobsmacked the 18th was a confusing hole. The situation was I was 1 down. he tee off first and hits a tree 20 yards in front of the tee and finished behind a the tree. I hit a nice strike but a slight pull - its either going to be up on the left hand rough or just nudged into a very lightly wooded area (Happy with it) He messes up his second and finishes 2 fairways over behind another tree. So as we walk off there are 2 fairways between us. He didn't see his ball fly so I tell him the direction it went in and we set off.

When i got to my ball (in light rough, good lie and nice view of green) i put my bag down take my measurements grab a 5 iron and start to address the ball. It’s at this point i notice the ball is not mine. So i decide to carry on looking for my ball slightly further on it can now really only be in the wooded area. I find another two crappy old balls on my travels and then eventually see mine right next to a tree stump no chance off getting to the green.This has taken me now a good 3 or 4 minutes.He calls out to me after walking over the first fairway and asks if i have it, I said yes but i don't like the lie.

To be honest i wasn't really bothered as he was basically out the hole and no chance of getting to the green in 3. I figured a 5 was good enough to take it to a playoff so I punch out to around 90 yards from the green into the rough the other side. He hit his 3rd into fairway bunker, 80 yards from green. When he got to me he said "why did you leave you bag so far behind your ball?" I explained that I almost played the wrong ball with one i found and that's where I set my bag down. I went on to get my 5 and I think he got a 7 in the end. Nothing more was said until after the game. He was adamant I did something wrong and said I played the wrong ball. I could even prove to him I still had all my balls I started with.

I don't think addressing the wrong ball is a rule breach? Is it?

Anyway he rang the tournament director up and is now saying i pulled up a tree root so to be honest it seems likes he is just a bad loser and just making stuff up. But how should I handle the situation?

I'm really upset someone has questioned my integrity on the course. Only in last years match play championship i disqualified myself in the semi final because I played the wrong ball out the rough, the guys had already conceded and walked to the next tee. it was only when i picked my ball up off the green after pitching on I realized there was only 2 black dots and not 3 on my srixon2. Have been really cautious about this since which is probably why I noticed this time.

Do you think i should just let this slide? Shall i make a complaint about this guy?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

1: How are there so many unfound golf balls at a tournament?

2: Addressing the wrong ball isn't a penalty as long as you don't make a stroke. (I think...99% positive, but there is that 1% doubt...)

3: He's a whiny baby who's upset that he lost...you have every right to rat him out if he's making up garbage to try to get a ruling.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hi Guys

I played in the 3rd Round of the Nike match play event (formerly Volvo). I started off terribly and found myself 4 down after the first 6 holes. Anyway a combination and a near faultless back 9 and my opponent making some mental errors forces the match to into 2 play off holes. On the second play off hole I won by holing a 30 foot put for birdie.

The guy shakes my hand then as were walking back across the course he starts muttering then he said "i think you didn't play the right ball on the 18th, i think you cheated!"

I was gobsmacked the 18th was a confusing hole. The situation was I was 1 down. he tee off first and hits a tree 20 yards in front of the tee and finished behind a the tree. I hit a nice strike but a slight pull - its either going to be up on the left hand rough or just nudged into a very lightly wooded area (Happy with it) He messes up his second and finishes 2 fairways over behind another tree. So as we walk off there are 2 fairways between us. He didn't see his ball fly so I tell him the direction it went in and we set off.

When i got to my ball (in light rough, good lie and nice view of green) i put my bag down take my measurements grab a 5 iron and start to address the ball. It’s at this point i notice the ball is not mine. So i decide to carry on looking for my ball slightly further on it can now really only be in the wooded area. I find another two crappy old balls on my travels and then eventually see mine right next to a tree stump no chance off getting to the green.This has taken me now a good 3 or 4 minutes.He calls out to me after walking over the first fairway and asks if i have it, I said yes but i don't like the lie.

To be honest i wasn't really bothered as he was basically out the hole and no chance of getting to the green in 3. I figured a 5 was good enough to take it to a playoff so I punch out to around 90 yards from the green into the rough the other side. He hit his 3rd into fairway bunker, 80 yards from green. When he got to me he said "why did you leave you bag so far behind your ball?" I explained that I almost played the wrong ball with one i found and that's where I set my bag down. I went on to get my 5 and I think he got a 7 in the end. Nothing more was said until after the game. He was adamant I did something wrong and said I played the wrong ball. I could even prove to him I still had all my balls I started with.

I don't think addressing the wrong ball is a rule breach? Is it?

Anyway he rang the tournament director up and is now saying i pulled up a tree root so to be honest it seems likes he is just a bad loser and just making stuff up. But how should I handle the situation?

I'm really upset someone has questioned my integrity on the course. Only in last years match play championship i disqualified myself in the semi final because I played the wrong ball out the rough, the guys had already conceded and walked to the next tee. it was only when i picked my ball up off the green after pitching on I realized there was only 2 black dots and not 3 on my srixon2. Have been really cautious about this since which is probably why I noticed this time.

Do you think i should just let this slide? Shall i make a complaint about this guy?

You did nothing wrong and I would just let it go. The fact that you called the rule on yourself the previous year is obviously in your favor in any dispute. If it makes you feel better, address your concern about the loser to the director, but you won fair and square.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it's not a penalty for addressing the wrong ball or any other ball for that matter.

The guys a jerk.

it amazes me how many people do cheat though and the game is supposed to be about integrity.

Stay on the high road.  You can't prove it and it will do no good to complain.

the guys that know you will know you do not cheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think in order to make a valid claim in match play one has to do so before teeing off on the next hole.  If he thought you had not played #18 correctly, he had to tell you what his concern was prior to starting the playoff.  Mentioning it after losing the playoff was too late.  So you should be in the clear from a Rules standpoint.

As to his spreading stories about an alleged breach of the Rules, I would politely suggest to him that he refrain from discussing an issue that had already been settled.  Assure him that you did not breach the Rules either by playing the wrong ball or improving your lie.  If he persists in his insinuations, make a complaint to the club.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Its wasn't specific tournament day. It was matchplay home game on my club course. So just a normal day in terms of the course. I think he is try to get the match over turned because the next round is at the London club
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you guys! I have been playing golf for a good few years now but only been a member of a club and playing regular tourneys 18 months now. I've significantly improved but in all my time never had this! Oh we'll I'm taking it as a good learning experience and finding that some people will do anything to win. I should have seen it coming really. As the more I was clawing the game back the more upset he seemed to get. I just thought it was with himself for letting it slip on the back 9
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just ask him if he wants a rematch, and make sure you have two witnesses. That'll probably shut him up.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sounds like he was angry at himself for blowing a lead and letting you back in the match to force a playoff.  Rather than admit he blew it, it's easier on his ego to accuse you of cheating.

I wouldn't lose any sleep over it, you won, he lost.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just ask him if he wants a rematch, and make sure you have two witnesses.

That'll probably shut him up.

+1

There was a guy in my work league this year who kind of had the same problem (we do stroke play in league, 9 holes).  He would always challenge peoples scores per hole yet claim he had a 4,5, or 6 when in reality he had a 9 or a 10 (he was that bad). After a week where he claimed to have shot a good score and screwed several of us out of points the guy who runs our league played with him and kept his score for him.  It was amazing that someone could go from shooting a 46 one week and a 81 the next.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is why I play a bright yellow Callaway Hex Chrome+ with writing all over it. No one will ever mistake my ball in a tournament.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I recently had to change the markings of my golf ball after someone played my ball instead of theirs in a tournament. I now use a mark that I've only seen myself use and I make sure to reapply it whenever it appears to fade after use.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think in order to make a valid claim in match play one has to do so before teeing off on the next hole.  If he thought you had not played #18 correctly, he had to tell you what his concern was prior to starting the playoff.  Mentioning it after losing the playoff was too late.  So you should be in the clear from a Rules standpoint.

As to his spreading stories about an alleged breach of the Rules, I would politely suggest to him that he refrain from discussing an issue that had already been settled.  Assure him that you did not breach the Rules either by playing the wrong ball or improving your lie.  If he persists in his insinuations, make a complaint to the club.

This.  Tell him he has no right to slander you when he had an opportunity to make a claim and did not.    And if he spreads the story simply counter with "He is a sore loser - never raised an issue on the hole as required by the rules, but now that he lost he is whining about it."  Chances are this has happened before with this guy and people will know.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • My Swing (PumaAttack)
      Dude, he like, literally, answered some of the questions you're asking in this post in the post you quoted. You are right about one thing, though.  If you're already working with an instructor, you shouldn't be muddying the waters with advice from other sources.  In fact, Erik and Mike make points to not offer advice when they know that, so you should have just mentioned that from the start.
    • My Swing (PumaAttack)
      @mvmac @iacas I have a friend who is also on Evolvr and got feedback today from his coach that his swing is looking great and has no changes at this time. I looked at his swing.  He goes from really shallow at A3 and then slightly steeper at a5.  Why is that ok for him and not for me?  Seems a little hypocritical, eh?
    • 2016 DEAN & DELUCA Invitational
      Still a shot for the top 3 players in the world to all have won the last tournament they played at the same moment in time, which I don't believe has ever happened in the history of the game.  #pgatourhasneverbeenbetter    Ok, that hash tag was a little douchy, but c'mon, this shit is good.
    • Lowest score you've seen?
      Lowest ive ever witnessed is 71 twice by me.Thats saying something considering I play in tournys with very good players.My 71s were not in tourny conditions though.
    • What would a PGA Tour player shoot at your home course?
      But because they play on courses that are considered quite difficult compared to the average home course, wouldn't their up & down % be expected to increase due to having closer misses on average - particularly with slower greens to hold approaches? The comment above is not to discount this, but only emphasize how the two go together. If you apply a fantastic long game on a shorter course on average they will have an easier time being more consistent and hitting the ball closer to the pin on average and therefore making more putts. Or do you think they would have the same expected proximity on one of our home courses as they would on the tougher tour courses and setups? I get you on the tournament prep being very different to hitting a course blind, but to some extent the OP is comparing how we play on our home courses day-in, day-out vs. the tour pros moving from place to place. How would we score visiting a course blind relative to our home course where most of the scores are posted and we are very familiar with the layout and greens. Granted pros make it a point to know this stuff with yardage books and memory. Still switching between venues and conditions rather suddenly vs. gradual changes we would tend to experience on a home course must add some difficulty. I came across a good study that analyzed all PGA tournament scores for 2007 including field average adjustments. He had the unadjusted scoring average that year as 70.704. If you figure the average course setup is ~ CR 75 and add one stroke for 'tournament conditions' (and added difficulty of Major setups) then that was about 5.3 strokes below average rating. So relative to a Course Rating (slope should not matter to a pro), and assuming a standard normal distribution, 95% of the scores should range between -6.7 and -3.9 below the rating. However, his analysis detected two interesting features, the curve (with a ton of samples) is approximately symmetric with a ~ .4 skewness. This right skew means the most frequently expected result (the mode) is actually slightly lower than the mean. So that implies that even on tour setups the lower than average scores are expected just a bit more frequently (the left tail and shoulder are slightly thicker and probability for scores lower than the mode slightly higher.). Here's an approximation of what the distribution would look like relative to strokes below the CR. In comparing courses with higher average scores (like the U.S. Open) the study found that the standard deviation of scores increased. The 'tougher test' created more of a separation between the players. Also the players whose scores tended to skew left were poorer players on average in terms of results. They averaged a relatively high score, but they could go really low sometimes. The relevance this has to the thread is that on the easier home courses that most of us tend to play, the tour players would be more bunched in their expected scores with higher probabilities around the mean of -5.3 relative to the CR and possibly more toward the low side with the left-skewing, less-consistent scorers reducing the size of the right tail and extending the left while holding the 'field average' the same. It could skew the distribution toward lower expected score (though the most frequently expected value would still be around the mode). But what would you expect as a total spread for the average scratch population? You agree that with the average population of golfers by handicap there's a decrease in score variability with increasing skill versus the average population at each handicap level having the same average scoring distribution, yes? IMO, the answer to the OP greatly depends on the CR. On my course from the tips, they'd be expected to shoot under 65 over 50% of the time. On a CR of 72, I'd expect  below 67 over 50% of the time. At Oakmont (in non-Open setup), under 73 over 50% of the time. And that would be without accounting for a possible 'going low' effect from the typically easier home course setups we face (not including Oakmont there. They would face some hazards you don't find on tour either - lost balls could be an issue for some. I'm not sure I agree that they'd expect to putt worse. At the least because I would expect their proximity to the hole to increase on all shots due to the typically shorter length (shorter irons on average into each hole) along with relatively slower, softer greens.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (26 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (24 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (54 years old)
  • Blog Entries