Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Always an 80

The Green Out Of Bounds???

22 posts in this topic

Gotta crazy one here. Friend of mine playing PGA event. He hits to the back of the green. No problem right? Wrong!! He gets called out of bounds if you can believe it. They set the boundaries up not quite right you see. He was shown that as things lined up that his ball was in fact out of bounds! Yes on the green!! Anyone here ever witness this type of insanity?? He was speechless to say the least.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Was he playing at MeFree's course? Just kidding, but your scenario makes no sense at all.  Where was this PGA tournament held, where hitting the green is OB?

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was he playing at MeFree's course? Just kidding, but your scenario makes no sense at all.  Where was this PGA tournament held, where hitting the green is OB?

Not that the State makes any difference but happened in upstate Indiana. The ruling was that markings had to be complied with even if seemingly wrong and that the rules would be the same for everyone. When word got out I bet everybody started playing a bump and run. Lol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gotta crazy one here. Friend of mine playing PGA event. He hits to the back of the green. No problem right? Wrong!! He gets called out of bounds if you can believe it. They set the boundaries up not quite right you see. He was shown that as things lined up that his ball was in fact out of bounds! Yes on the green!! Anyone here ever witness this type of insanity?? He was speechless to say the least.

An actual PGA Tour event? Which one? I'm struggling to believe this.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd have invoked 3-3 if I couldn't get a ruling in a reasonable time frame.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

And yes you are most certainly correct. It made no sense at all. Some Moron just so happened to dissect the green when setting things up and no one caught it before tournament play began.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not that the State makes any difference but happened in upstate Indiana. The ruling was that markings had to be complied with even if seemingly wrong and that the rules would be the same for everyone.

When word got out I bet everybody started playing a bump and run. Lol

What course and what hole?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can call him and ask for the particulars. He may not want to mention anything specific though so as to not stir anything up. He has however given up his standing and has been out of tour play for several years. All I can do is ask him about it. No promises. I am sure he is telling the truth tho. He could not believe the situation either!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

He said the official lined him up with the boundaries and showed him how his ball was just out of bounds as it sat on the back of the green. He States he was ready to simply quit then and there. He was totally disgusted with the BS as he put it.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can call him and ask for the particulars. He may not want to mention anything specific though so as to not stir anything up. He has however given up his standing and has been out of tour play for several years. All I can do is ask him about it. No promises. I am sure he is telling the truth tho. He could not believe the situation either!

Can't imagine what would be "stirred up" by mentioning where this supposed fiasco happened. Knowing how carefully PGA events are set up, it seems unlikely that this happened as you said.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't imagine what would be "stirred up" by mentioning where this supposed fiasco happened. Knowing how carefully PGA events are set up, it seems unlikely that this happened as you said.

Crazy stuff happens every day. Especially where egos are involved. Ive seen many instances where people in an officiating position would simply not admit to a misjudgement or mistake at any cost. I know it sounds wild. I am sure it was a minor tournament. Not much important goes on in Indiana if you think about it. Lol. He is a great golfer by normal standards and has a great deal of integrity. I am sure that this bizarre incident occurred. Small tourney back in the 80s ? Yeah I can see it happening. Out of the way tournament in out of the way place. I believe him. I was just wondering if you guys ever heard of something this crazy before.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What boundaries? Stakes? Those can go missing.

If I remember correctly he did say boundaries were marked with stakes. Good point. Thanks for jogging my memory.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by Harmonious

Was he playing at MeFree's course? Just kidding, but your scenario makes no sense at all.  Where was this PGA tournament held, where hitting the green is OB?

Not that the State makes any difference but happened in upstate Indiana. The ruling was that markings had to be complied with even if seemingly wrong and that the rules would be the same for everyone.

When word got out I bet everybody started playing a bump and run. Lol

This is a joke, right?  Just like your goose poop thread.  No committee in a sanctioned tournament would make such a stupid ruling.  They would look at the out of bounds marking and then remark it correctly without doing something as stupid as penalizing a player and then not repairing the mistake.  Either this is just bull$&!# or this was the stupidest tournament committee on the planet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It could be that a greenkeeper tasked with placing the stakes didn't understand the straight line concept.

Or the stakes were placed the day before and overnight one went missing.

More likely the former.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It could be that a greenkeeper tasked with placing the stakes didn't understand the straight line concept.

Or the stakes were placed the day before and overnight one went missing.

More likely the former.

But do you agree with me that the moment it was discovered, the error should have been corrected rather that penalizing a player for such an obvious screw up?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

But do you agree with me that the moment it was discovered, the error should have been corrected rather that penalizing a player for such an obvious screw up?

Yes. Now if another player had come thru earlier and played it as OB, not likely, it gets a little more ugly. Could any of this really happen?? A PGA event??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

But do you agree with me that the moment it was discovered, the error should have been corrected rather that penalizing a player for such an obvious screw up?

Yes.

Now if another player had come thru earlier and played it as OB, not likely, it gets a little more ugly. Could any of this really happen?? A PGA event??

I would think that the first person confronted with the possibility of being out of bounds on the green would have protested it, so I don't see your concern as likely to be valid.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0