IGNORED

Course Management - Shot Placement

JayFore
Note: This thread is 3821 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I just started playing very recently and really want to learn to play smarter since I hope it can improve my game without "practice" (i.e. better swing).

I think the best place to take advantage of that would be setting myself up for a high % shot to the green using a full swing. But I've also been practicing my 1/2 and 1/4 swings (with wedges) to get shorter distances down. I also have finally tried chipping... only a couple dozen shots tried though, so still suck.

My full swing, 1/2, 1/4 distances from 100 yards and in are:

PW: 100, 80, 48

GW: 85, 68, 42

SW: 70, 56, 36

LW: 55, 44, 30

Those are pretty rough as I just finally started hitting the ball consistently.

As of now, the only time I feel like I am hitting what should be the "correct" shot is when it's obvious. Basically when:

1. Full Swing Distance away, I'll use the club that goes that distance. The exception would be that I have given up with SW because I skull it over the green half the time. I now try using GW 1/2 swing from that distance (~60 yards) even though my non-full swings aren't very consistent.

2. Chipping from right off the fringe (~10 - 30 yards)

3. Short pitch (or lob?) to an elevated green or over hazard ( ~10 - 30 yards)

However, I really would love to know the best approach. I haven't played enough to really gauge where I hit greens the best, especially considering at my level, I am really focusing on consistent contact. So would love to get advice from you guys as to "best practice" at managing each hole.