• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
joekelly

Flapping plastic bag

5 posts in this topic

I hit the ball into the rough which was shrubby trees and thin grass. My ball was next to a small tree. In the tree and hooked onto a branch was a white plastic bag which sort of flapped in my face when i took my stance. The caddy quickly removed it. I treated the bag as a movable obstruction and all was OK. Area was not marked as a hazard.

But what if what was stuck in the tree was a dead and withered branch which also annoyed or troubled me? Could i remove that without penalty?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

But what if what was stuck in the tree was a dead and withered branch which also annoyed or troubled me? Could i remove that without penalty?

Not if the branch was still attached to the tree.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I hit the ball into the rough which was shrubby trees and thin grass. My ball was next to a small tree. In the tree and hooked onto a branch was a white plastic bag which sort of flapped in my face when i took my stance. The caddy quickly removed it. I treated the bag as a movable obstruction and all was OK. Area was not marked as a hazard.

But what if what was stuck in the tree was a dead and withered branch which also annoyed or troubled me? Could i remove that without penalty?

Just for clarification, you are allowed to remove movable obstructions anywhere on the course, including hazards.  You can also move MO's that are OB. The only exception is if the ball is in motion.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just for clarification, you are allowed to remove movable obstructions anywhere on the course, including hazards.  You can also move MO's that are OB. The only exception is if the ball is in motion.


And in such a case the only MO one may move is the flagstick.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And in such a case the only MO one may move is the flagstick.

Yes, as long as the flagstick has been attended, removed, all held up.  Also, the equipment of any player may be moved while a ball is in motion.  These are the two exceptions allowing the moving of a MO when a ball is in motion.

Thanks Ignorant, should have mentioned that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0