Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Blitz28179

Marking Another Player's Ball

6 posts in this topic

In pro golf I seen phil the thrill mark another players ball in the china tourney.I was surprised,I thought that wasnt allowed or would be frowned upon on the tour.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so. 20-1. Lifting And Marking A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so.

20-1. Lifting And Marking

A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.

I do it fairly often when senior players are in our group, just to save them the trouble. One day I marked the same person's ball 5 times during the round with a quarter and each time he put the quarter in his pocket. I'm pretty sure he didn't even realize he was keeping my quarters and since he's a really nice guy I didn't have the heart to ask for my 5 quarters back.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shorty

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

Two whole years? ;-)

I've been watching the pros for 40 years, and I have seen it before.  It's rare for them because they have caddies, and they usually get to the green together, or at least close enough that it's not necessary.  I've seen it before when one player had to wait on a ruling for his approach while his fellow competitor played and went straight to the green.  The FC was away once both balls were on the green, and was ready to putt before the delayed player got to the green, so he signaled his intent, got permission, and lifted the FC's ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0