Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Pat28

Ball marker deliberately moved by competitor

7 posts in this topic

In a stableford competition a player moved my ball marker without my permission in a hurry to put out. I forgot to replace it and properly incurred the penalty for playing from the wrong spot. However, I feel that he should also have been penalised for moving my marker in the first place.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I think you are correct that the competitor did not have authorization to move your mark and is subject to a penalty.  However, you need to make a timely claim.  Since the event is now over, best to just let it go but remember if it ever happens again.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Well, I have to retract that earlier response.  I believe Stableford is consider a form a stroke play. I would think moving a competitor's marker would be treated the same way as unauthorized marking of a competitor's ball - no penalty.

20-1/4

Competitor's Ball Lifted Without Authority by Fellow-Competitor

Q.In stroke play, a fellow-competitor lifts a competitor's ball on the putting green without the authority of the competitor. Such action is contrary to Rule 20-1 . What is the ruling?

A.There is no penalty and the ball must be replaced (Rule 18-4 ).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks for that - I agree with your comments but it does seem somewhat odd as the unauthorised movement of ones marker, if abused, could cause problems on the course. Not that I am dwelling on the particular incident as it was a day of bad golf anyway and is best forgotten!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for that - I agree with your comments but it does seem somewhat odd as the unauthorised movement of ones marker, if abused, could cause problems on the course. Not that I am dwelling on the particular incident as it was a day of bad golf anyway and is best forgotten!

Further to the Decision above, the next Decision (20-1/5) says that the "player is not responsible for a breach of a Rule caused by the unauthorized lifting of his ball". The situation in the Decision is that the unauthorized person replaced a different ball, which the player then played. The player is not penalized for playing a substituted ball. By analogy, you should not be penalized for playing your ball from a wrong place when you had not authorized the moving of the marker and did not know it had been moved. (And yes, Stableford is a form of stroke play.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In a stableford competition a player moved my ball marker without my permission in a hurry to put out. I forgot to replace it and properly incurred the penalty for playing from the wrong spot. However, I feel that he should also have been penalised for moving my marker in the first place.

The question is, were you aware that the marker had been moved?  If so then you were in breach.  if not then then there is no penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The question is, were you aware that the marker had been moved?  If so then you were in breach.  if not then then there is no penalty.

The OP said he 'forgot to replace it'. Sounds like he knew.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0