IGNORED

Golf is harder than it looks!

Guest ShadowXOR
Note: This thread is 6093 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Guest ShadowXOR
I'm completely new to golf and plan on getting lessons. However, I just went down to the driving range with my new clubs and fooled around. I was getting decent at driving but I really sucked at using my irons. I had some fun on the chipping and putting grounds as well. I sucked at both as well. People make it look smooth but I had problems following through with my swings, my body naturally wanted me to stop the club after I hit the ball. Not sure why. Surprisingly my fiance seemed to enjoy it as well, it would be great to have someone to play with (just moved to a new area where I know NOBODY).

I don`t think you`ll ever find a person, who after one try thinks golf is easier than it seems when watching others.
But always nice that people start playing the beautiful game. If you get a membership at a place, start playing. After a while, you`ll surely end up with someone that you really enjoy playing golf with.
Just ask whether or not they would like to play another round one day...

Good luck with the golfing, by the way. If you need any tips or anything, you just ask.

I have made one hole in one this far. While you are reading this, I am most likely out on the tee trying to sink another one

Guest ShadowXOR

Thanks for the comments. I wish the driving range I went to had yardage signs, I'm curious to find out how pathetic my shots were.

There is no need for yardage signs, in my opinion. Have you ever played a round? First of all, the range balls will go 10-20% shorter than regular balls, as the quality is poorer.
And second, you`ll imagine your shots, and simulating them while playing. This perhaps the best way of learning, by simulating your shots.