• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
madolive3

Provisional, sorry.

15 posts in this topic

I know it's been beaten to death.  Par 4

I slice a Tee shot OB, across a road into a landscaped unfenced yard. I saw the ball land in a bush next to a big rock. So I declare and take my Provisional, hook it out about 200 next to a tree. I hit my hybrid up just short of the green off to the right rough. As we are walking up to the green I find my original ball, TF Gamer with green dots on all sides, no mistake, it is my first ball. Must have bounced off the rock back in play. Original ball was about forty yards short of where my second provisional shot landed. I played my original ball and picked up my provisional.

There was some doubt with one of our foursome about the rule. I did not play my provisional closer to the green, or past my original ball just because it landed closer to the green, I hit the ball 170 yards behind where my original lay. I am correct?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

b. When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play
The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).

If the original ball is lost outside a water hazard or is out of bounds, the provisional ball becomes the ball in play, under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).

Exception: If it is known or virtually certain that the original ball, that has not been found, has been moved by an outside agency ( Rule 18-1 ), or is in an obstruction ( Rule 24-3 ) or an abnormal ground condition ( Rule 25-1c ), the player may proceed under the applicable Rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I know it's been beaten to death.  Par 4

I slice a Tee shot OB, across a road into a landscaped unfenced yard. I saw the ball land in a bush next to a big rock. So I declare and take my Provisional, hook it out about 200 next to a tree. I hit my hybrid up just short of the green off to the right rough. As we are walking up to the green I find my original ball, TF Gamer with green dots on all sides, no mistake, it is my first ball. Must have bounced off the rock back in play. Original ball was about forty yards short of where my second provisional shot landed. I played my original ball and picked up my provisional.

There was some doubt with one of our foursome about the rule. I did not play my provisional closer to the green, or past my original ball just because it landed closer to the green, I hit the ball 170 yards behind where my original lay. I am correct?

If you played your second stroke with the provisional from a point at or beyond where the original ball was thought to be , then it became the ball in play and the original ball is lost.  It doesn't matter that you later find the original ball ahead of that point.  Under the rules, you would have played a wrong ball, incurred a two stroke penalty and should have corrected the mistake before playing from the next tee.  In a competition you would have been disqualified.  It all depends on where your original ball was thought to be.

b. Stroke Play

If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes.

The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules. If he fails to correct his mistake before making astroke on the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, fails to declare his intention to correct his mistake before leaving the putting green, he is disqualified.

Strokes made by a competitor with a wrong ball do not count in his score. If the wrong ball belongs to another competitor, its owner must place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A word of warning. If the original ball has gone through the back of the green and the provisional is short of the green, the words in the rule must be read literally.

If he makes a stroke with the provisional from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.

So, if the original is somewhere beyond the green, check it out before you play the provisional again.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A word of warning. If the original ball has gone through the back of the green and the provisional is short of the green, the words in the rule must be read literally.

If he makes a stroke with the provisional from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.

So, if the original is somewhere beyond the green, check it out before you play the provisional again.

I hadn't thought of that specific situation.......interesting.  Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be.

Not necessarily.  If that happened the ball wouldn't be lost, it would have been holed......whether you knew it at the time or not.  Anything done with the provisional subsequent to having holed out would be irrelevant.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsc123

hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be.

Not necessarily.  If that happened the ball wouldn't be lost, it would have been holed......whether you knew it at the time or not.  Anything done with the provisional subsequent to having holed out would be irrelevant.

I'm not sure that this is true.  I repeat:

b. When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play

The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the holethan that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes theball in playunder penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).

When the rule says "where the original ball is likely to be" it doesn't mean anywhere on the golf course.  If you don't feel that the original ball is likely to be in the hole but it is likely to be elsewhere but a search doesn't find it, and you play a second stroke with the provisional ball from where you do feel is a likely distance for the original to have been, then you have abandoned the original ball.  Finding it later in the hole is then irrelevant, or at least that's how I read the rule.

I could be wrong, as you are correct in that holing the ball does mean that the play of the hole is over, so I'm not going to argue my point too rigidly, pending further comment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was just kidding that you should assume that ball is likely to be further down the course so you get a little more leeway.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

[QUOTE name="David in FL" url="/t/71108/provisional-sorry#post_920505"]   [QUOTE name="dsc123" url="/t/71108/provisional-sorry#post_920442"]   hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be. [/QUOTE] Not necessarily.  If that happened the ball wouldn't be lost, it would have been holed......whether you knew it at the time or not.  Anything done with the provisional subsequent to having holed out would be irrelevant. [/QUOTE] I'm not sure that this is true.  I repeat:  [QUOTE]

b . When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play

The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1 ).

[/QUOTE] When the rule says "where the original ball is likely to be" it doesn't mean anywhere on the golf course.  If you don't feel that the original ball is likely to be in the hole but it is likely to be elsewhere but a search doesn't find it, and you play a second stroke with the provisional ball from where you do feel is a likely distance for the original to have been, then you have abandoned the original ball.  Finding it later in the hole is then irrelevant, or at least that's how I read the rule. I could be wrong, as you are correct in that holing the ball does mean that the play of the hole is over, so I'm not going to argue my point too rigidly, pending further comment.

Looking forward to hearing more about this. I feel that if the ball has been holed it renders all other subsequence actions as null. Curious to know what the proper ruling is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Looking forward to hearing more about this. I feel that if the ball has been holed it renders all other subsequence actions as null. Curious to know what the proper ruling is.

I'm sticking to my interpretation on this one.  There is no requirement to actually know that the ball has been holed for it to have been so.....  Once holed, the hole is over for that competitor.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

[QUOTE name="Ernest Jones" url="/t/71108/provisional-sorry#post_920539"] Looking forward to hearing more about this. I feel that if the ball has been holed it renders all other subsequence actions as null. Curious to know what the proper ruling is.[/QUOTE] I'm sticking to my interpretation on this one.  There is no requirement to actually know that the ball has been holed for it to have been so.....  Once holed, the hole is over for that competitor.

That's my feeling too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1-1/3

Player Discovers Original Ball in Hole after Searching Five Minutes And then Continuing Play with Provisional Ball

Q. At a par-3 hole, a player, believing his original ball may be lost, plays a provisional ball. He searches five minutes for the original ball and then plays the provisional ball onto the green. At that point, the original ball is found in the hole. What is the ruling?

A. The player's score is 1. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed the original ball (Rule 1-1 ).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1-1/3

Player Discovers Original Ball in Hole after Searching Five Minutes And then Continuing Play with Provisional Ball

Q.At a par-3 hole, a player, believing his original ball may be lost, plays a provisional ball. He searches five minutes for the original ball and then plays the provisional ball onto the green. At that point, the original ball is found in the hole. What is the ruling?

A.The player's score is 1. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed the original ball (Rule 1-1).

I knew that there was a decision about this, but I ran out of time to look for it earlier.  Thanks RM.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Gotta admit, I was too lazy to even look. Seemed pretty straight forward, but then again, thinking like that has gotten me in trouble before!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • My Swing (coop6)
      It pretty much is, I'm not going to debate 5 degrees with you. As I've said repeatedly, Tiger's swing and a standard swing do not require rotation. On this shot he rotated 5 degrees, not much. If you want to play with rotation to closed enjoy. I prefer to keep the club square. 
    • Struggles of turning pro
      http://thesandtrap.com/blogs/ Normally you must be an Established Member to create a blog, but I've enabled this for you now.
    • No Forearm Rotation - Biggest Swing Flaw?
      Completely bogus. The arms (forearms) rotate in every good golf swing. Here's an old thread that's appropriate for this discussion.   Also, I don't think I've ever really seen a golfer, throughout his backswing, rotate his forearms the opposite way. For short periods of time, maybe a few golfers "counter-rotate," but all end up rotating some. No, there won't be "arguments" over this, or there shouldn't be, because… like many things, this is pretty much a fact. There really doesn't need to be an argument or a discussion. It's a knowable, understandable thing. Hunter, like every other PGA Tour pro, rotates his forearms during the backswing. You're rotating your arms as you do this. It's subtle, but if you just pick the club up straight without rotating, you'll have the shaft resting against the top of your head. Look at where the back of your left hand points. Toward the target at setup, and then rotated to put the club on your right shoulder. Turn to the top when the club is on your face or the top of your head and the club will be leaning out over the target line (it'll be roughly parallel to your bend toward the ball, since it's basically just staying inline with your spine). Bending your right arm rotates your forearms. It pulls everything to the right (you can't bend your right arm straight in front of you without also bending your left arm). Then even more rotation is added after that. I agree that you don't want to be doing a lot of "things" on the downswing, but that's not how physics works. You can do all sorts of things on the backswing and not do them on the downswing. We have students who swing steep to steep, steep to shallow, shallow to steep, shallow to shallow, and all sorts of things. We have students who address the ball with a closed clubface, roll it way open, and then return it wide open, etc. The "equal and opposite" does not mean a delayed reaction - it means that if I push on something it will, right at that very moment, push back. If I fire rocket propulsion downward, the missile or space shuttle or whatever will move upward. You don't fire rockets and then, a week later, a different missile takes off as a "reaction." Furthermore, PGA Tour players have a variety of backswings. Ray Floyd was underneath, Rickie Fowler or Ryan Moore are steep or over the top on the backswing. The golfer who comes closest to the "square" or "no rotation" backswing is a guy who CAN'T really rotate his forearms: Tim Clark. And even Tim rotates some. But notice how far "out over his head" the clubhead is, despite the fact that he's well short of parallel on the backswing. It's so much more than that. I ask people in my lessons how much skill or raw natural talent it takes to set up properly. The correct answer: none. They just have to know how to do it. If golf was as simple as "set up properly and then turn" we'd all be a whole lot better than we are. Golfers can be set up the same and make very, very different backswings, and both can be successful. So Bubba is doing it wrong? And what does that have to do with the swing flaw of "rotating your forearms"? (Is overswinging a big problem? Absolutely. More, IMO, for what it tends to do to the trail elbow and the subsequent inability of the player to get the arms and hands down fast enough. I'll never really argue against overswinging, except when it's made as a blanket statement covering all golfers who go past parallel or something.) Also, you said (though it feels off topic since this is mostly about forearm rotation, n'est-ce pas?) "the more you have to wait for them to come down." That's not really true - you can MAKE them come down faster. Your arms aren't just limp things hanging from your shoulders that get dragged behind your hips and torso rotating. Because, biomechanically, making a swing with no forearm rotation would be ridiculous and resemble the golf swings of precisely no good players, ever. Tim Clark comes closest, and people don't even copy his swing, and if Tim Clark's forearms would rotate as most people's do, even Tim Clark would have a different golf swing. Modeling your golf swing on someone with a disability hardly seems like the prudent choice. My last piece of evidence, right here: This should drive the point home pretty significantly. Spoiler One last thing here. Consider the sagittal plane (in the spoiler above, just so it's not taking up a ton of space) and the back of the left hand (assuming a right-handed golfer). At address, they're parallel - the back of the left hand is parallel to the sagittal plane. Yet at the top of the backswing, what do we see? The sagittal plane (at the point of attachment of the arms, i.e. near the shoulders) is about 90° from where it started. It's inclined at about 35° or so, but otherwise just is still just a plane bisecting the sternum, neck, face, etc. What plane is the back of the left wrist on? Why, it's one that's about 90° to the sagittal plane. I've illustrated this here: In this illustration, I've drawn a little "cube" in the screen on the left. The green face of the cube is parallel to the sagittal plane (the edge of the plane is pointing "at the camera"). The blue side - perpendicular to the green side - is parallel to the back of the left hand. It too is pointing at the camera, but has rotated about 90°. That's why it's parallel to a perpendicular side of the cube. On the right, above, to make the back of Mike's left hand parallel the green face of the cube, he'd have to rotate his arms BACK about 90° to the red line. Now, then, @Golfer2223, you'd set a record as the first human being in history to present an argument as you have done and immediately recognize, given my response and a little thought on your part, that you want to take back your entire argument and completely change your position. In other words, I don't expect that to happen. A small part of me hopes it will some day, but I don't think today is going to be that day. But, realistically, that's what should happen. As I see it, you have no real ground to stand on here. Not biomechanically, not based on simple geometry, nothing. The arms rotate during the backswing in EVERY good player. Even in Tim Clark's backswing (or he'd truly have the club hanging out over his head. I will also say this, @Golfer2223: I appreciate your willingness to help, and to jump in, and to offer your thoughts on things. I hope you can take this rebuttal in the spirit in which it's intended - to help and to discuss. I don't know who you are (you should add more info to your profile), and I'm not responding just to be mean, but to help people learn, think critically, and better understand the golf swing. We encourage debate and discussion here, and that's all my response is to be taken as - more debate and discussion. Do I think I'm right? Yes. And I think I've backed up why. P.S. As someone noted above, often students need to feel like there's no rotation in the backswing. But that doesn't make it accurate.
    • Northern Michigan Courses
      I have been to Northern Michigan on several occasions. There are a lot of great golf courses but they are SPREAD OUT so keep driving distance in mind.   Arcadia Bluffs Forest Dunes True North Little Traverse Bay Belvedere Dunmaglas Black Lake Grand Traverse Resort (Nicklaus and Player Course) Lochenheath  Leelanau Boyne Hills Course   These are all EXCELLENT golf courses that are worth playing
    • Crandon/Key Biscayne or Biltmore
      Wow, tough choice! Key Biscayne or Crandon. Either one would be awesome.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries