Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
madolive3

Provisional, sorry.

15 posts in this topic

I know it's been beaten to death.  Par 4

I slice a Tee shot OB, across a road into a landscaped unfenced yard. I saw the ball land in a bush next to a big rock. So I declare and take my Provisional, hook it out about 200 next to a tree. I hit my hybrid up just short of the green off to the right rough. As we are walking up to the green I find my original ball, TF Gamer with green dots on all sides, no mistake, it is my first ball. Must have bounced off the rock back in play. Original ball was about forty yards short of where my second provisional shot landed. I played my original ball and picked up my provisional.

There was some doubt with one of our foursome about the rule. I did not play my provisional closer to the green, or past my original ball just because it landed closer to the green, I hit the ball 170 yards behind where my original lay. I am correct?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

b. When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play
The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).

If the original ball is lost outside a water hazard or is out of bounds, the provisional ball becomes the ball in play, under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).

Exception: If it is known or virtually certain that the original ball, that has not been found, has been moved by an outside agency ( Rule 18-1 ), or is in an obstruction ( Rule 24-3 ) or an abnormal ground condition ( Rule 25-1c ), the player may proceed under the applicable Rule.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I know it's been beaten to death.  Par 4

I slice a Tee shot OB, across a road into a landscaped unfenced yard. I saw the ball land in a bush next to a big rock. So I declare and take my Provisional, hook it out about 200 next to a tree. I hit my hybrid up just short of the green off to the right rough. As we are walking up to the green I find my original ball, TF Gamer with green dots on all sides, no mistake, it is my first ball. Must have bounced off the rock back in play. Original ball was about forty yards short of where my second provisional shot landed. I played my original ball and picked up my provisional.

There was some doubt with one of our foursome about the rule. I did not play my provisional closer to the green, or past my original ball just because it landed closer to the green, I hit the ball 170 yards behind where my original lay. I am correct?

If you played your second stroke with the provisional from a point at or beyond where the original ball was thought to be , then it became the ball in play and the original ball is lost.  It doesn't matter that you later find the original ball ahead of that point.  Under the rules, you would have played a wrong ball, incurred a two stroke penalty and should have corrected the mistake before playing from the next tee.  In a competition you would have been disqualified.  It all depends on where your original ball was thought to be.

b. Stroke Play

If a competitor makes a stroke or strokes at a wrong ball, he incurs a penalty of two strokes.

The competitor must correct his mistake by playing the correct ball or by proceeding under the Rules. If he fails to correct his mistake before making astroke on the next teeing ground or, in the case of the last hole of the round, fails to declare his intention to correct his mistake before leaving the putting green, he is disqualified.

Strokes made by a competitor with a wrong ball do not count in his score. If the wrong ball belongs to another competitor, its owner must place a ball on the spot from which the wrong ball was first played.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A word of warning. If the original ball has gone through the back of the green and the provisional is short of the green, the words in the rule must be read literally.

If he makes a stroke with the provisional from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.

So, if the original is somewhere beyond the green, check it out before you play the provisional again.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A word of warning. If the original ball has gone through the back of the green and the provisional is short of the green, the words in the rule must be read literally.

If he makes a stroke with the provisional from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.

So, if the original is somewhere beyond the green, check it out before you play the provisional again.

I hadn't thought of that specific situation.......interesting.  Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be.

Not necessarily.  If that happened the ball wouldn't be lost, it would have been holed......whether you knew it at the time or not.  Anything done with the provisional subsequent to having holed out would be irrelevant.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsc123

hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be.

Not necessarily.  If that happened the ball wouldn't be lost, it would have been holed......whether you knew it at the time or not.  Anything done with the provisional subsequent to having holed out would be irrelevant.

I'm not sure that this is true.  I repeat:

b. When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play

The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the holethan that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes theball in playunder penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).

When the rule says "where the original ball is likely to be" it doesn't mean anywhere on the golf course.  If you don't feel that the original ball is likely to be in the hole but it is likely to be elsewhere but a search doesn't find it, and you play a second stroke with the provisional ball from where you do feel is a likely distance for the original to have been, then you have abandoned the original ball.  Finding it later in the hole is then irrelevant, or at least that's how I read the rule.

I could be wrong, as you are correct in that holing the ball does mean that the play of the hole is over, so I'm not going to argue my point too rigidly, pending further comment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was just kidding that you should assume that ball is likely to be further down the course so you get a little more leeway.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

[QUOTE name="David in FL" url="/t/71108/provisional-sorry#post_920505"]   [QUOTE name="dsc123" url="/t/71108/provisional-sorry#post_920442"]   hmm, sounds like you should always remember to add "but it also could have kicked out and landed in the hole" when thinking about where you possibly lost ball may be. [/QUOTE] Not necessarily.  If that happened the ball wouldn't be lost, it would have been holed......whether you knew it at the time or not.  Anything done with the provisional subsequent to having holed out would be irrelevant. [/QUOTE] I'm not sure that this is true.  I repeat:  [QUOTE]

b . When Provisional Ball Becomes Ball in Play

The player may play a provisional ball until he reaches the place where the original ball is likely to be. If he makes a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place, the original ball is lost and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1 ).

[/QUOTE] When the rule says "where the original ball is likely to be" it doesn't mean anywhere on the golf course.  If you don't feel that the original ball is likely to be in the hole but it is likely to be elsewhere but a search doesn't find it, and you play a second stroke with the provisional ball from where you do feel is a likely distance for the original to have been, then you have abandoned the original ball.  Finding it later in the hole is then irrelevant, or at least that's how I read the rule. I could be wrong, as you are correct in that holing the ball does mean that the play of the hole is over, so I'm not going to argue my point too rigidly, pending further comment.

Looking forward to hearing more about this. I feel that if the ball has been holed it renders all other subsequence actions as null. Curious to know what the proper ruling is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Looking forward to hearing more about this. I feel that if the ball has been holed it renders all other subsequence actions as null. Curious to know what the proper ruling is.

I'm sticking to my interpretation on this one.  There is no requirement to actually know that the ball has been holed for it to have been so.....  Once holed, the hole is over for that competitor.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

[QUOTE name="Ernest Jones" url="/t/71108/provisional-sorry#post_920539"] Looking forward to hearing more about this. I feel that if the ball has been holed it renders all other subsequence actions as null. Curious to know what the proper ruling is.[/QUOTE] I'm sticking to my interpretation on this one.  There is no requirement to actually know that the ball has been holed for it to have been so.....  Once holed, the hole is over for that competitor.

That's my feeling too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1-1/3

Player Discovers Original Ball in Hole after Searching Five Minutes And then Continuing Play with Provisional Ball

Q. At a par-3 hole, a player, believing his original ball may be lost, plays a provisional ball. He searches five minutes for the original ball and then plays the provisional ball onto the green. At that point, the original ball is found in the hole. What is the ruling?

A. The player's score is 1. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed the original ball (Rule 1-1 ).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1-1/3

Player Discovers Original Ball in Hole after Searching Five Minutes And then Continuing Play with Provisional Ball

Q.At a par-3 hole, a player, believing his original ball may be lost, plays a provisional ball. He searches five minutes for the original ball and then plays the provisional ball onto the green. At that point, the original ball is found in the hole. What is the ruling?

A.The player's score is 1. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed the original ball (Rule 1-1).

I knew that there was a decision about this, but I ran out of time to look for it earlier.  Thanks RM.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Gotta admit, I was too lazy to even look. Seemed pretty straight forward, but then again, thinking like that has gotten me in trouble before!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • The Dan Plan - 10,000 Hours to Become a Pro Golfer (Dan McLaughlin)
      Yah but that didn't rhyme . In all seriousness, I think I wrote a similar post pages ago on this thread. My little rhyme was a bit unfair, but when I thought of a combo of words to go with Ericsson, I just had to flush it out. In what might be my final words on the whole thing (assuming the project is not resurrected!): Ericsson: Kinda like @mchepp, I find the whole thing vague about what he was asserting. That's much my fault, but partly his inability to communicate clearly. I doubt it was: "if you dedicate 10,000 hours, then you can be in the top of your field without any prior natural talent." That would certainly be preposterous. But he strikes me as basically a decent person and an academic type who can't organize a desk. I'm sure the media garbled the meaning of his work in various ways, because we wanted to turn it into a feel-good inspirational thing. Ericsson didn't help his cause by not being particularly clear in his media appearances (my opinion, of course).  That's why the line about him being erudite. He seems so academic and unable to explain himself in the real world. Gladwell: Great storyteller who took the general gist of Ericsson (and never even spoke to him, as we later learned) and weaved some great tales around it in Outliers. Beatles and Bill Gates come to mind, off the top of my head. They spent 10,000 hours on stuff (Hamburg bars and computer geek stuff) and THEN when the universe aligned and their skills suddenly were in demand, they were positioned to succeed. I thought that was a clever thesis, and he was a great writer. It was the stuff of cocktail parties for quite a while. But that's how I remember the thesis years later anyway, and the part about the world suddenly finding the skills to be in demand wouldn't have applied to Dan today with golf. We have enough golfers. But the world was looking for rock n roll (Beatles) and it was looking for computer expertise (Gates), so the 10,000 hours were part of their success since they were well-positioned. As the years have gone by since Outliers, Gladwell has generated quite of bit of criticism for his pomposity (easily searchable), so that was a fun line to stick in there. While I'm generally skeptical of a lot of Gladwell's theses, he is very thought-provoking which I enjoy (I do think he nailed the criticism of social media encouraging a lazy sort of activism-- but that's OT). Dan: What I think is "dead" is the idea that you can take the two people's writings above, and then turn that into your own little inspirational project to reinvent your life. So, yes, it's too harsh to say that the "10,000 Hour Theory" is dead (since I admitted I don't even know what precisely Ericsson meant). But I do hope the cottage industry of reinventing your life because of the academic paper on 10,000 hours has run its course. Reinvent your life, absolutely! Take risks. Be bold and passionate. Sure, go for it. But don't pretend you are a scientific experiment. That's the part, I think, should die a quick death. So while I agree with what you write in your post above, @Pretzel, there's my defense of the limerick.  
    • 2016 DEAN & DELUCA Invitational
      You're right. I don't know why I said bicep.
    • Jr Tournament play?
      Hello I have few questions? During tournament play with 13 year olds there is a dad who races cart to kids ball that looks fishy as hell very questionable. I'd hate to accuse but looks bad. Also if you get relief from roots of tree should player just approach his ball make free relief drop and play it? Without telling anyone? Or should they let someone know so they are sure what the players doing? Ready to make a scene over couple issues. My son counts every stroke no matter what and seeing disrespectful and dishonest play has really got me going. 
    • Using the tee box markers?
      The tee marker isn't a "device" nor is it equipment.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Adunifon
      Adunifon
      (35 years old)
  • Blog Entries