• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GeeksGoneBad

Thought ball was lost in water - dropped and hit another - then found original ball

29 posts in this topic

Drivable par 4 I hit and had a little fade that *could* have ended up in a little creek that crosses right in front of the green, there's also some trees on the right that the ball could have hit and bounced anywhere

got up there and couldn't find my ball so I took a drop assuming it went in the water...

once crossing the bridge to the green I found my original ball - so I abandoned the dropped ball and played my original - much to my playing groups chagrins - they basically said that once I played the drop that I was abandoning the original but I was thinking of it like a provisinal?

what's the right call?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Did you declare the first ball as "lost" or did you clearly announce that you were playing a provisional? I "think" that is the distinction?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

I did let everybody know that the ball was lost and that I was taking a drop assuming it went into the water - it was not a provisional, nor did I say "Provisional"

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We'll I guess that answers that question!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Sorry, I don't follow :(

I thought the original tee shot was good from the tee, but getting up there I could not find the ball - what should I have done?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Drivable par 4 I hit and had a little fade that *could* have ended up in a little creek that crosses right in front of the green, there's also some trees on the right that the ball could have hit and bounced anywhere

got up there and couldn't find my ball so I took a drop assuming it went in the water...

once crossing the bridge to the green I found my original ball - so I abandoned the dropped ball and played my original - much to my playing groups chagrins - they basically said that once I played the drop that I was abandoning the original but I was thinking of it like a provisinal?

what's the right call?

Your buddies were right.   It sounds as if you weren't "virtually certain" that your original ball was in the water hazard.  In that case, you would have to proceed under the assumption that your ball was lost outside the hazard.  You should have then gone back to the tee, declared that you were hitting a provisional for a  possible lost ball and hit another ball.  You could then continue to play that ball provisionally up to the point where the original ball should have been.  In this case, you would have hit your second shot with the provisional into the green, then crossed the bridge and found your original ball beyond where you played that approach shot with the provisional.  You would have abandoned the provisional and continue to play the original ball.

Once you did play that dropped ball from the wrong place though, rule 20-7 requires that you finish the hole with it.......under penalty of 2-strokes , not one.

When in doubt, hit a provisional!

Did you declare the first ball as "lost" or did you clearly announce that you were playing a provisional? I "think" that is the distinction?

Had it been a provisional, he would have had to re-tee under stroke and distance.  By dropping outside the hazard and subsequently making a stroke at it, the original ball was abandoned under penalty and a new ball was put into play.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Thanks David for the great explanation!

and so just to clarify one statement (so I can learn) :) you said that if I wasn't sure that my ball was in the water that I should assume that it was NOT in the water? So in other words if you're not sure your ball is in the water don't take a drop?

Thanks for the help!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks David for the great explanation!

and so just to clarify one statement (so I can learn) :) you said that if I wasn't sure that my ball was in the water that I should assume that it was NOT in the water? So in other words if you're not sure your ball is in the water don't take a drop?

Thanks for the help!

Correct.

Under rule 26-1, in order to obtain relief from a water hazard, you must either find the ball in the hazard, or know or be virtually certain that the ball was lost in the the water hazard.

Just because it could be in the water hazard isn't enough.  Without knowledge or virtual certainty, you must proceed under rule 27-1 for a lost ball......taking stroke and distance.

And BTW, welcome to the forum! :beer:

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Gotcha! thanks and thanks! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Geeks,

Couple of points.   Yes, if you are not sure the ball is in the hazard, (you do not have what is called "known or virtual certainty or KVC" you can not assume the ball is in the hazard.  If you don't have KVC, DECLARE a provisional and replay your stroke in case you can not the original ball.

If you go forward and look for your original ball, you can not go back and play a provisional.  It's too late.  The whole idea for allowing a provisional is to save time, so you must play it before you go forward to search for your original ball..

You are correct, if you are not sure the ball is in the hazard, you can not drop under the hazard rule.  One thing though, if you do drop it in this case, you can under Rule 20-6, correct this mistake and pick up your incorrectly dropped ball before you play a stroke with it.  So in other words, when you dropped the ball, if someone saw your original, you could pick up your dropped ball and proceed correctly with your original ball,.

Also, one clarification on the ruling for what your did,   If you dropped and played by the hazard, instead of replaying your stroke, you would have not only played from a wrong place, but have been deemed to have committed a Serious Breach because you gained a significant advantage by playing up by the hazard instead of back where you originally played the stroke.  In this case, you would have to abandon the ball you played incorrectly from the hazard, and correctly play under the lost ball rule.  This means go back to the tee.  You would be hitting 5 from the tee.

Hope I haven't confused you too much..  This rule comes up a lot here and is often misunderstood.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You should have then gone back to the tee, declared that you were hitting a provisional for a  possible lost ball and hit another ball.  You could then continue to play that ball provisionally up to the point where the original ball should have been.  In this case, you would have hit your second shot with the provisional into the green, then crossed the bridge and found your original ball beyond where you played that approach shot with the provisional.  You would have abandoned the provisional and continue to play the original ball.

Once you did play that dropped ball from the wrong place though, rule 20-7 requires that you finish the hole with it.......under penalty of 2-strokes, not one.

When in doubt, hit a provisional!

No. Once you have gone forward to search for the ball you may not play a provisional.

27-2 . Provisional Ball

a . Procedure

If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds , to save time the player may play another ball provisionally in accordance with Rule 27-1 . The player must inform his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitor in stroke play that he intends to play a provisional ball , and he must play it before he or his partner goes forward to search for the original ball.

If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1 ); the original ball is lost .

By dropping the ball and playing it where he did, he was deemed to have proceeded under 27-1a (stroke and distance). But as you say, he played from a wrong place with a 2 stroke penalty.

However, with the distance gained this would be a Serious Breach with a DQ unless the error was corrected before playing from the next tee.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No. Once you have gone forward to search for the ball you may not play a provisional.

27-2. Provisional Ball

a. Procedure

If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, to save time the player may play another ball provisionally in accordance with Rule 27-1. The player must inform his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitor in stroke play that he intends to play a provisional ball, and he must play it before he or his partner goes forward to search for the original ball.

If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1); the original ball is lost.

By dropping the ball and playing it where he did, he was deemed to have proceeded under 27-1a (stroke and distance). But as you say, he played from a wrong place with a 2 stroke penalty.

However, with the distance gained this would be a Serious Breach with a DQ unless the error was corrected before playing from the next tee.

Didn't sound like he went forward to search for his ball......he certainly didn't cross the bridge over the hazard where the ball was subsequently found.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Didn't sound like he went forward to search for his ball......he certainly didn't cross the bridge over the hazard where the ball was subsequently found.

From the OP

Drivable par 4 I hit and had a little fade that *could* have ended up in a little creek that crosses right in front of the green ,

27-2a/1.5

Meaning of "Goes Forward to Search"

Q. Under Rule 27-2a , when is a player considered to have gone forward to search for the original ball such that a provisional ball cannot be played?

A. A player will be considered to have gone forward to search when he has proceeded more than a short distance towards the place where his original ball is likely to be. As the purpose of Rule 27-2a is to save time, the player is permitted to go forward a short distance before determining that it would save time to return promptly to play a provisional ball. As a guideline, a player should be considered to have proceeded more than a short distance, and therefore to have gone forward to search, if he has proceeded more than approximately 50 yards. However, this guideline does not preclude a player from playing a provisional ball when he has proceeded more than a short distance for another specific purpose, such as to retrieve a ball or a different club to play a provisional ball, or to confer with a referee. (Revised)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the OP

Drivable par 4 I hit and had a little fade that *could* have ended up in a little creek that crosses right in front of the green,

27-2a/1.5

Meaning of "Goes Forward to Search"

Q.Under Rule 27-2a, when is a player considered to have gone forward to search for the original ball such that a provisional ball cannot be played?

A.A player will be considered to have gone forward to search when he has proceeded more than a short distance towards the place where his original ball is likely to be. As the purpose of Rule 27-2a is to save time, the player is permitted to go forward a short distance before determining that it would save time to return promptly to play a provisional ball. As a guideline, a player should be considered to have proceeded more than a short distance, and therefore to have gone forward to search, if he has proceeded more than approximately 50 yards. However, this guideline does not preclude a player from playing a provisional ball when he has proceeded more than a short distance for another specific purpose, such as to retrieve a ball or a different club to play a provisional ball, or to confer with a referee. (Revised)

You're absolutely right. I went brain dead. :doh:

Once the ball wasn't found, he had to go back under stroke and distance.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Yup I did go forward :) sounds like I messed up a lot and what a good tee shot it actually was LOL

OK so I hit my tee shot and thought it was pretty good so I did not hit a provisional, I go forward to look for my ball but cannot find it - I don't know FOR SURE that it's in the water, so what I should have done is replay the tee shot (not a provisional because it's too late) and been hitting 4 off the tee? (1 stroke for the first lost ball, 2 stroke penalty, hitting 4)

do I have it right?

Now.... :) friendly game of golf that this was - what would be acceptable, because obviously going back to the tee and hitting another shot will upset the players behind us :) would it bee acceptable play to just allow an assumption that it went in the water?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Or should that be hitting 3 off the tee? 27-1 is one stroke plus distance - so after I searched for my ball and it was lost I should have gone back to the tee and been hitting 3 - yes?

Thanks for all the help in getting me to understand this one ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Or should that be hitting 3 off the tee? 27-1 is one stroke plus distance - so after I searched for my ball and it was lost I should have gone back to the tee and been hitting 3 - yes?

Thanks for all the help in getting me to understand this one ;)

Correct.  You'd have been hitting 3 off the tee.

The real lesson to be gained here is, when in any doubt at all, hit the provisional.  In this case, you'd have found your ball after crossing the bridge and could have played your second shot to the green.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Did you declare the first ball as "lost" or did you clearly announce that you were playing a provisional? I "think" that is the distinction?

You do not declare anything lost, you just hit a new ball. Declaring ball lost has no meaning in the rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Golf Evolution
  • Posts

    • Iron Game Suffers when Driver Going Well
      For high handicappers myself included, this is typical.   I think it is b/c we don't have the same swing for irons and longer clubs.  If we get them both right in the same round, it is probably by pure luck or coincidence.  Grin and bear, and enjoy the journey.
    • Jack or Tiger: Who's the Greatest Golfer?
      The topic title is the question who is the greatest golfer, the poll is the question who was the best. Two different things in my opinion. There's no doubt to me Tiger was a better golfer. How could he not? Spieth, McIlroy, Day but even guys like Wiesberger, Luiten and Donaldson play better golf than Jack. The game evolved so much over the years, and got so much more professional. If Jack would have been around in this era he would benefit from all that as well and be a better golfer than he was (and probably top those guys I just mentioned). But who was the greatest. How do you measure that (can you)? Tiger was dominant in a stronger field, winning more titles than you can count. Jack was the first of a kind, winning the biggest titles (majors) over an enourmous span and having the most of them. Isn't it mostly a matter of personal who you find 'greater'? For me Johan Cruyff is the greatest Dutch football player of time, but I have no doubt that Dennis Bergkamp and Arjen Robben were/are better because the game evolved. 
    • Making a Murderer Discussion Thread (Spoilers Likely)
      Obvisously... she took his case about a month ago. On one hand I hope Avery is guilty as hell, on the other hand it would be an amazing story and twist if turns out to be set up and she can prove that. I think that chance is less than 1%, but still..... Possibly, good point. Should be quite some blood though since they found 'drops', meaning it was dripping from (in this theory) his glove. Exactly my point. I don't think the blood was freely flowing, because than there should be a lot more blood in the car. They found blood consisting with bloody hair. Seems to me, and I know I'm not an expert, that she was already dead when she was in the car, because that would explain the little amount of blood found (no pumping of the heart, no flow of blood) and the place it was found (in the back). One can easily argue that he killed in the garage, moved her to the car, and only then got the plan to burn her instead and moved her again; to the pit. But the 'problem' is that that's not what the DA said what happenend. In my opinion that blood in the car contradicts the story (or truth) he wants us and the jury to believe, and contradicts also with the story of Dassey which is the only thing that links Dassey to the case: his own words. That doesn't mean Avery is innocent, but it might raise some doubt. The DA should stick with the facts, not filling in the blanks with guessing. If he can't prove exact chronologically he shouldn't state it as 'fact'.   Absolutely. I'm not convinced in anything, not in my opinion, not in yours, not at all in the people who made the documentary. Also not a fan of conspiracy theory's. I don't think the murder was planted on him, but I do think some mistakes were made by the justice system. Mistakes that possibly should have lead to his and maybe even more Dassey's release, even though there's a big chance he did it. That's for me perhaps the most interesting part in this case and in the discussion. If we want a justice system where the chance is close to 0% that we convict someone innocent, and the prosecution and police need to follow the rules, it means sometimes the guilty walk free. I think everything they found on the compount while Manitowoc detectives were present should have been excluded. I think the DNA on the blood of the bullet should have been excluded. I think the 'confession' of Dassey should have been excluded. I think Dassey should have given at least a new trial, but that was denied by the same judge which handled his initial case (?!).
    • Jack or Tiger: Who's the Greatest Golfer?
      A long time ago, by Tiger's own admission,  said a golfer's career is measured by "majors won" . So if Woody does not break Jack's major record, then according to Woody, his career will be second to Jack's. Now Jack has said that he expects (expected) Woody to break his major record. So Jack is saying he expects Woody will have the better career.  These are the only two guys who would know who had the best career.   Neither one is going to be the GOAT. They will just be a GOTE. 
    • Jack or Tiger: Who's the Greatest Golfer?
      Nope, you blindly worship Jack.  It is obvious that you have not read much, if any, of the thread.  But hey, you saw Jack.  In person, yet.  So what.  I did too.  I saw him win his last USGA championship at Cherry Hills.  I saw Tiger play as well - although in person I only saw practice rounds.  So what.  That does not make my assessment of their respective careers more or less credible.  Geee, I never saw Hogan play so I guess we cannot count him in the discussion.   You think Jack was better.  That is fine.  You are entitled to your opinion.  Just don't spoil it with specious reasons or arguments.  Because those we will slice apart like one of Klinger's salamis.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    No users celebrating today
  • Blog Entries