IGNORED

MPtheKid 2014 Blog

MPtheKid
Note: This thread is 3703 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi Guys...I wanted to create a thread detailing the work I am doing on my game in 2014. It's okay if no one reads along but I wanted someplace where I could record my thoughts.

Background:

I played probably two or three rounds a year growing up from ages 12-18. Once I went off to college, I forgot about golf and didn't play for a couple of years. Spring semester of my senior year (Spring 2012), I started playing casually with a buddy of mine and when I got home from school that year I caught the bug. I started playing as much as I could and was determined to get better. I played by myself and practiced a lot but I was dead-set on doing things my way and improving without any instruction. I got down to around an 8.5 handicap by late summer 2013 and joined a new club. After a getting fed up with my inconsistency (I could shoot a round in the high 70s or completely blow up for a 90 something), I decided that it was time to start working with a pro. My swing was super ugly and completely based on my timing being perfect (no doubt that's what contributed to the inconsistency). If my timing was off it was shank city and I would play like a complete hack. I swung extremely flat around my body so getting the face square at impact was completely dependent on my hands manipulating the clubface coming through the ball. I also would swing entirely with my arms among other issues. My swing really was a wreck. In September 2013 my honest yardages were as follows:

Driver: 215-225

3 Wood: 205-215

3 Hybrid: 190-200

4 iron: 175-180 but I really couldn't swing a long iron

5 iron: 165 but see above

6 iron: 155-160

7 iron: 140-145

8 iron: 125-130

9 iron: 115-120

PW: 105-110

54 Degree: 95

60 Degree: 60