• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
liveeel

1st hole in one!!

17 posts in this topic

Sorry guys,maybe I shouldn't have started a new thread for this, I wasn't sure where to post it. For the last couple weeks the weather around here has been extremely cold, for South Carolina standards anyway, and I played 12 outta 14 days. Promised my wife I would slow down so I left my clubs at home Monday just so I would not even be tempted. Low and behold my boss comes up to me Monday morning and says, if you played in that mess over the weekend, I know you are playing today, its supposed to be 60 degrees this afternoon. I told him  I left my clubs at home just so I would not be tempted. He then said, well go home at lunch and get em' , were teeing off at 2:30.  What's a man to do, at lunch I went home and told my wife ''the boss man said''. The round started O.K. I had a couple errant tee shots and after a bogy on 7 I thought I can par out and shoot 40 on this side. #8 is a 144yd par 3 over water that was playing 134. While we waited on the green to clear, my bosses buddy says '' I've never had a hole in one'' ,( he's only been playing for a year), I said ''well most folks haven't, I've never even seen one''. I pulled gap wedge and flushed it, it was high and going right at the pin, of course I said ''just go in the hole''. There was a little noise and the ball just disappeared, It landed straight in the hole, a slam dunk. I went crazy, not sure why I ran and did a Pete Rose slide across the gold tee box, just felt like the thing to do at the time. The guys in front of us had to think '' somebody just canned one''.  Im not sure how a ball can stay in the hole like that, but Im glad it did. Ended up shooting 39- 41. My wife said exactly what I thought she would, ''that's exactly what you needed to do, to help you cut back on playing golf". Proud to report I have'nt played in 2 days. LOL it's been snowing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Congrats. :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

1st hole in one always deserves a new thread. Congrats!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Congrats!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

40+ years and still waiting... you suck.:-P congrats... (mumble, grumble, ferfin, gerfrin...)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

40+ years and still waiting... you suck.

congrats... (mumble, grumble, ferfin, gerfrin...)


Called my dad to tell him about it. That's pretty much what he said.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You now owe everyone on the forum a beer :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Really nice. Especially the slam dunk part of it. Don't think that happens too often, ever.

Also, does your boss need another employee? :-D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Congrats!

I've been playing for about 12 years and never had one. I've had 3 within 2 inches of going in but never had one. I've also witnessed 3 from people playing in my group. I've also holed out twice from outside 150 yards, but both have been on approach shots.

Crazy story. The third time my wife ever played golf was on a Par 3 course at a resort in Florida. She is not very good, but she bladed an iron shot and hit a worm burner that skidded along the fairway towards this short 80 yard par 3. Wouldn't you know it, the ball slams into the pin and drops! Her 3rd time ever golfing and she holes out for an ace. I went ballistic, and she just got mildly excited. As we were walking up there, I was still mumbling in disbelief and she says "Well that's where I was aiming."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Congratz...still waiting for mine after 11 years..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Congrats - A hole in one with your boss. Priceless. :dance:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for all the replies. Visited the scene of the crime today and kinda re-lived the moment for a minute. Tee's and pin were in similar locations, hit same club, drew a lil to much, ended up 15' pin high, made par.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's awesome man! If the day ever comes for me I will probably yell so loud everyone on the course knows somebody knocked one in haha. I let the people in front and behind me know today when I sunk a 54 footer for birdie!
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      You're exactly right. At first I meant we were told to re tee if we could not find it, meaning unplayable stroke and distance, same as a lost ball but obviously you must call the correct penalty. But that makes no sense because it would just be a free drop if certain the ball was in. But what ACTUALLY occured was because of the cold and forecast of pouring rain (which happened) they made an odd rule where we could re tee without penalty if we saw the ball go in. So I did not do the free re tee, which someone in the group did a few holes before, beause we were not sure, AND we didn't rake it out, so it was declared a lost ball. But the other kid who did not do a re tee because he thought he saw his ball clear the sand, took a free drop without finding it, all within the rules. The bunker was on the right side of the fairway so my line was further and to the right of the kid who took the drop, who hit it straight and short. All i can vividly remember is us standing in the pouring rain and cold, dragging rakes through a bunker full of deep water, and finding every other golf ball! Crazy!  I think you got to the real oddity where an unidentified unplayable is the same penalty as a lost ball, but called something different. Unless there is some difference? I guess if it is found before you hit the next shot you would not be able to play it where it lies in the unplayable scenario, granted you did not declare the lost ball lost yet (then no penalty). Is there any other difference? I guess both you can tee it up after the penalty, and you still can't go more than 2 clubs behind the tee markers in the unplayable scenario I believe. Wonder if there are any other differences between lost ball and unplayable but unidentified.
    • Ball likely in casual water but uncertain
      I think we are talking about a couple of different things.  First, I don't really understand the "local rule" you were given in your tournament with regards to the flooded bunkers.  When you say re tee, did they tell you to play your stroke over with no penalty.  Can't do that. As far as declaring a ball unplayable, this is different than taking relief for Casual Water.  You may in fact declare a ball unplayable without finding it, but in this case, you must play your next stroke from the spot where you played your last.  (Stroke and Distance)  If you think about it, its the same procedure as if you were to lose your ball.  Under the ball unplayable rule there is a one stroke penalty. Iacas gave you the rule for taking relief from casual water in a bunker.  In order to do this, it must be known or virtually certain the ball is in the casual water.  
    • My Swing (coop6)
      @coop6. You're right about opening up too fast. I should have worded differently. It's not that your body isn't moving where it needs to move. It's that your arms aren't moving with your body enough. Or you might say the body isn't inluencing the motion of the arms. Try the Dufner towel under arms drill, it's an extreme drill but it will help this. Your body rotation has to help turn the club back to square, that is the whole idea, feel the body and upper arms turning the club back. Once that happens you won't have to flip the club shut right after impact.
    • My Swing (coop6)
      @iacas see it now
    • My Swing (adragon0216)
      There is no such thing as a strong grip. There is a stronger left hand or stronger right hand. If you strengthen the right hand grip this will help close the face. If you weaken the left hand grip this will also help close the face, though less so. Stand taller and flatten the swing out until you are older. Don't try to be so bent over at the hips at impact. Take lessons so you don't get hurt swinging this way. Your shoulders should turn level through the ball. Like I said don't increase the bend from the hips at impact.    
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries