IGNORED

How far should i bring the club back?

mikeparker
Note:Β This thread is 3226 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

I have always wondered this it would be great for someone to tell me generally where to stop and start the downswing.

Bag::ogio:Β Chamber cart bag

Driver:Β :tmade:Β TaylorMade BurnerΒ 

3 Wood::adams:Β Adams Speedline Super S

Hybrid::adams:Β AdamsΒ Idea a3OS BoxerΒ 

Irons:Β :tmade:Β TaylorMadeΒ Burner PlusΒ 

Wedges::callaway:Β Forged wedges

Putter::ping:Β Scottsdale

Would depend on your flexibility to some extent. I can't get the club to parallel, if you can without bending your arms, then I would guess, as I'm no expert, would be your stopping point. Although some pros go well beyond parallel. One of the more knowledgeable guys could explain it better.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You only need to bring the club as far back as your shoulder turn allows you to. Your shoulders turn and your right elbow folds to bring the club up, that's it. Anymore is overswinging and doesn't actually contribute anything to your swing; it actually creates more problems.
  • Upvote 2

Bill

β€œBy three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Quote:

Originally Posted by billchao

Anymore is overswinging and doesn't actually contribute anything to your swing; it actually creates more problems.

It can. Theoretically there's more torque, so you could hit it further with a huge backswing. Β Of course, in reality we pretty much don't take advantage of the extra torque much if at all and it causes all kinds of problems.

Matt

Mid-Weight Heavy Putter
Cleveland Tour Action 60˚
Cleveland CG15 54˚
Nike Vapor Pro Combo, 4i-GW
Titleist 585h 19˚