IGNORED

Building a set, need some advice

clutchshot
Note: This thread is 3672 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Right now I have a TM 3 hybrid at 19 degrees, a 4 Iron at 20 degrees and a 5 iron at 23 degrees. My plan was to get a 5 hybrid because I don't hit 4i and 5i real consistent, but can hit 3 hybrid all day long. The 5 hybrid I am looking at is Adams and 22 degrees. You think this is a big enough gap between my 3 hybrid or should I be looking for something with a little more loft? Any help is greatly appreciated.

I think that's a tricky question that only you can answer for yourself.  It depends on what kind of shots you are hoping to accomplish with the club, and I would think it would also depend a lot on the hybrid you choose.  I believe some companies are making their hybrids as more direct replacements for irons, so a 5 hybrid would be more a 5 iron than a 4 replacement.  I have a 4 hybrid that I hit farther than I did my 4i, but that may be just me.

Driver: Titleist 913 D2 10.5*, Aldila RIP Phenom 50

Fairway 1: Titleist 913F, 17*, Titleist Bassara W55

Fairway 2: Titleist 913F, 21*, Titleist Bassara W55

Irons: Titleist AP1 714 5-PW, Aerotech Steelfiber i95

Wedges: SCOR 4161 48/52/56/60, Genius 9

Grips: GolfPride New Decade Red Mid-size on all of the above.

Putter: Scotty Cameron Newport 2 - Super Stroke Slim 3.0

I personally use a 19 degree and a 22 degree hybrid in my bag and then 6i-9i and I find that this set up works very well for me. However I would test one out if you get a chance and make sure the distance is right for your individual style of play before replacing your 4i.