IGNORED

Extremely Closed Club Face

GolfLug
Note: This thread is 3692 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello, I have been meaning to start a My Swing thread but haven't been able to. Life, kids, job, whatever. Anyway, I thought this would be a simple enough question without aid of a visual: Have you ever seen anybody (10-20 handicapper) set up with an extremely shut face; 45 degrees+ !! AND an to top that a very forward (also 45 deg. + !!) leaning shaft? I do! Guilty on both counts. No kidding this. Very intentional and I know exactly how uncouth it looks but I have been doing it for 10 yrs. now. When I have played a few weeks in a row in summer I hit 10-12 frozen rope straight hits on an average through a round. Rest are slight draws or straight blocks. Plenty of topped, fat, etc. which ruin the round. I chip and bunker this way too. I got to HC 13 last year doing this but winter golf has taken me back to 19. Anyway, one of these days I will drive up to Erik and Mike up in Erie for a serious makeover. For now just curious if you see people with closed face at address specifically and who are somewhat consistent in hitting the ball (hence the 10-20 HC group) while doing so. Also, since I know it will be asked, if I set up square (normal?) I just hit ultra block slices exclusively. Hopefully I will be able to do the My Swing thread soon and then you guys can have fun with it.:-D Cheers, V

Vishal S.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

When I got back into golf after a decade's absence, and discovered that I'd picked up an horrific slice during the time away, I did more or less what you are suggesting for quite a while.