Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Crim

A really stupid/silly question...

19 posts in this topic

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy."

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty.

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy."

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty.

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

So you're wondering if Tiger kept bouncing the ball in large advances forward on his wedge, similar to what he does in commercials or while practicing, if he could legitimately get the ball to the green from the tee on a Par 5 and putt for eagle after his 500 yard circus act?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So you're wondering if Tiger kept bouncing the ball in large advances forward on his wedge, similar to what he does in commercials or while practicing, if he could legitimately get the ball to the green from the tee on a Par 5 and putt for eagle after his 500 yard circus act?

Exactly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Exactly.

The Rules cover that too.

I think it's right in Rule 1 with language regarding a "serious breach" or something that results in a DQ.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So you're wondering if Tiger kept bouncing the ball in large advances forward on his wedge, similar to what he does in commercials or while practicing, if he could legitimately get the ball to the green from the tee on a Par 5 and putt for eagle after his 500 yard circus act?

That is totally wrong and just silly.

He would be putting for double eagle, not eagle. ;-)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He would be putting for double eagle, not eagle.

One shot and one penalty is two, putting for three.

Rule 1-2, btw:

1-2. Exerting Influence on Ball

A player or Caddie must not take any action to influence the position or the movement of a ball except in accordance with the Rules.

(Removal of loose impediment — see Rule 23-1.)

(Removal of movable obstruction — see Rule 24-1.)

*Penalty for Breach of Rule 1-2: Match play — Loss of hole; Stroke play — Two strokes.

*In the case of a serious breach of Rule 1-2, the Committee may impose a penalty of disqualification.

Note:A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that his act of influencing the position or movement of the ball has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his Partner, at a significant disadvantage.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy."

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty.

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

That is the exact same thing I thought when I read that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So I'm sittin' here reading Golf magazine and i'm going through "Ask the Rule Guy."

Someone explains to the rule guy that his friend double hits his ball from time to time, but the other day he TRIPLE hit it. The rules guy explains that the friend can only be given a 2 stroke penalty, then he goes on to say that even if he hit the ball a baker's dozen in one swing...it's still only a two stroke penalty.

That got me thinking, hypothetically, if someone could pop the ball up off the tee and bounce it off the club face ALL THE WAY to the hole...would it still be just a two stroke penalty? Or would there be some sort of rule against this? Obviously it would be dumb, and you'd be taking a big risk, but if someone perfected it....

Just a clarification.  The Rule is 1 PS no matter how many times you hit it.  1PS plus the actual stroke for a total of two strokes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Each time he moves his club to hit the ball he is making a stroke (see definition). In addition he would be in breach of 14-5 every time. :-O

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Each time he moves his club to hit the ball he is making a stroke (see definition). In addition he would be in breach of 14-5 every time.

That would require too much effort on my part.  I would just DQ him under 1-1 and 33-7 and be done with it. :naughty:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1-1 does not carry a penalty

Yeah I know, I figured 33-7 could still be used..  OK, 14-5 and 33-7 then.  He'd still be history. :naughty:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

One shot and one penalty is two, putting for three.

Rule 1-2, btw:

Duh!!!  Silly me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You guys have way too much time on your hands for stupid threads like this

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You guys have way too much time on your hands for stupid threads like this

Sorry, but I see value to something like this.

The challenge in understanding the rules is in being able to apply them to unusual situations.  The situation described in the OP is pretty outlandish, but the process of working through to the correct ruling demonstrates how the rules can be properly applied in any event.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sorry, but I see value to something like this. The challenge in understanding the rules is in being able to apply them to unusual situations.  The situation described in the OP is pretty outlandish, but the process of working through to the correct ruling demonstrates how the rules can be properly applied in any event.

Agree! Deductive reasoning rocks!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Agree! Deductive reasoning rocks!!!!

People with kids are pros at this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • it slows down the breakdown of elastin
      it slows down the breakdown of elastin and depletion of collagen. Saffron – helps curb darkish pigmentation as Blossom Youth Cream Prodroxatone Allegro Anti developing older Allegro Anti Truvaderm getting ancient Cream excessive-first-rate as Allegro Anti getting historic Cream darkish Renewing Serum CE circles Erase restoration HA beneath Vita Luminance experiences the eyes the entire while as making enhancements to zits problems. Helps clear http://drozforskolin.org/blossom-youth-cream-review/
    • Parsons Xtreme Golf, GoDaddy Founder Starts New Golf Company
      First time I had the 0311 7i in my hand, I look up at address and say, "How very Ping of them." My instructor, who is a dealer, looks up, smiles, and says, "Ya' think?" As you know, Parsons lured 2 senior Ping vets away to start his company.  The hybrids are also attractive, moreso in hand than in pics. Sound is solid yet feel at impact is still lively - an effective balance.
    • Hitting behind the ball and making deep divots...
      Hi there! I also took a look at your swing. First, mvmac's response is stellar. Study that video and try to replicate the swing you see in his example video, placing emphasis on keeping your lower body more stable during the swing. Some golf basics: hitting behind the golf ball (ie a fat shot) is almost always the result of not getting your weight over to the left side at impact. By getting your weight over onto the left side before impact you will be promoting a slew of good things, like coming into the golf ball with the hands ahead of the ball at impact and the shaft leaning forward, all things that will promote hitting the ball first and then the ground, and hitting down on the ball.  In your swing what I saw was a tremendous amount of hip rotation in the back swing combined with a sway to the right side. At the top of the backswing your hips are so open and your body so far off the ball that its going to take an incresibly timed athletic move to get back to your address position and onto your left side prior to impact. Instead, think of the golf.swing as more of a rotary action. Your upper body turns away from the golf ball while your lower body tries to maintain the position you were in at address. As you wind the upper body back, try to feel like you are restricting the hips and teyinf to keep them in the same position as address. In actualityx the wonding back of the upper bidy will pull the hips back slightly and you should feel some tension, like your body has been wound back like a spring. From there the correct move is to do the opposite, rotate your hips to the left, shift your body weight onto your left side, and let the lower body and club fall onto the correct plane. From there you can swing hard and through the golf ball. A good drill is to practice the forgoing with 1/2 swing, pausing for a moment between the back swing and downswing. Hope this helps!  P.s. fatigue will always affect performance. If your arms feel tired and your focus is gone, its always best to move onto chipping/putting. 
    • The best tip you have had, but not from a pro
      Don't let the way you play spoil your day.
    • "5 Minutes Daily" Practice Challenge May 2016
      I believe I have completed the May 2016 practice challenge.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. obwan
      obwan
      (70 years old)
    2. rkim291968
      rkim291968
      (54 years old)
  • Blog Entries