Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ScotchSpeed

Vijay Singh Hole 5 Friday At The Masters

15 posts in this topic

I haven't been able to watch much golf on TV lately but I did watch some highlights of the masters. There is a highlight of Vijay's 5th hole on Friday at the Masters which caught my attention. Vijay appeared to hit his 3rd shot from the putting surface with the flag in and he made it. Assuming the ball had to have come in contact with the stick before resting in the bottom of the cup, I would have expected a 2 stroke penalty for this. Was the ball off the green? Do I just misunderstand the rule or has it been changed?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Some of the Masters greens had a very fine fringe area that wasn't very noticeable on camera.  I think they trim it down to almost green height just to be evil!

:w00t:

I noticed this in the final round when one of the contenders did the same thing.  You could barely see the fringe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I also had some confusion over the green/fringe during the Masters.

I can't remember who/where/when, but I saw a player marking his ball and I thought, "Hang on, he's not on the green!" I pretty much instantly dismissed it as I was sure no top pro would make that mistake and figured it must just be some issue with how the green was cut.

Funny that when you noticed something similar it was reversed and that the ball appeared on the green but was off.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also had some confusion over the green/fringe during the Masters.

I can't remember who/where/when, but I saw a player marking his ball and I thought, "Hang on, he's not on the green!" I pretty much instantly dismissed it as I was sure no top pro would make that mistake and figured it must just be some issue with how the green was cut.

Funny that when you noticed something similar it was reversed and that the ball appeared on the green but was off.

One of the guys you're playing with can ask you to mark your ball if you're on the fringe and your ball interferes with his line. But you can't clean it and can't improve your lie.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

One of the guys you're playing with can ask you to mark your ball if you're on the fringe and your ball interferes with his line. But you can't clean it and can't improve your lie.

For sure, but this was a definite marking it on the green situation. Like I say, I'm sure it was just an issue of how the green was cut making it look like a fringe on TV. There was a second line just outside the ball as well which I'm sure was the actual fringe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One of the guys you're playing with can ask you to mark your ball if you're on the fringe and your ball interferes with his line. But you can't clean it and can't improve your lie.

Just a little more information.  Ball doesn't have to just interfere with your line.  As a player you may have a ball lifted for mental interference......it's near where you are making your stroke and it bugs you. Also, you can not lift your ball just because you think it interferes with another player.  Only the player playing the stroke may have another ball lifted for interference.

On the other hand, anyone may have any ball lifted ..... including his, if they think it might ASSIST another player.  Like a ball behind the hole that might serve as a backstop for another player.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can the other player refuse to mark his ball? Like if I'm not in my partners line and he just claims that it's "bugging" him can I just tell him "Nope. Not marking it. Deal."?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can the other player refuse to mark his ball? Like if I'm not in my partners line and he just claims that it's "bugging" him can I just tell him "Nope. Not marking it. Deal."?

What are we - a bunch of jerks or gentlemen?  Mark and lift the ball!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogolf View Post

What are we - a bunch of jerks or gentlemen?  Mark and lift the ball!

But there has to be a "reasonable possiblity" of assisting or interfering. So the rule can not be abused and each case is unique.

From decision 22/3:

Quote:
Rule 22 is intended to cover situations where there is a reasonable possibility that one ball might assist or interfere with another ball. If the Rule is being abused, as in this case, the Committee would be justified in penalising B for undue delay (Rule 6-7).
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can the other player refuse to mark his ball? Like if I'm not in my partners line and he just claims that it's "bugging" him can I just tell him "Nope. Not marking it. Deal."?

Generally speaking, Rule 3-4 covers this.   Jerks, as Rogolf so aptly put it, are DQ'd.

3-4 . Refusal to Comply with a Rule

If a competitor refuses to comply with a Rule affecting the rights of another competitor , he is disqualified.

3-4/1

Competitor Not Given Opportunity to Lift Ball Assisting Fellow-Competitor

Q. In stroke play, A's ball lies near the hole in a position to assist B, whose ball lies off the putting green. A states his intention to lift his ball under Rule 22-1 . B mistakenly believes that A does not have the right to lift his ball and plays before A has an opportunity to lift his ball. What is the ruling?

A. B is disqualified under Rule 3-4 as he intentionally denied A's right to lift his ball. It is irrelevant that B did so in ignorance of the Rules.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, but who decides? Seriously, if you're playing with someone who is anal about having all other balls on the green marked whilst putting, they could demand that you mark your ball even though you're 30 feet away from his line... Is that right?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As far abusing R22, this gives some guidance.  It's part of what luu5 posted.  I have yet to run into someone that purposely abuses the rule or is that anal.

22/3

Player Requests Another Player to Lift His Ball in Absence of Reasonable Possibility Ball Might Interfere or Assist

Q. A's ball is on the putting green. B's ball is 100 yards from the green. B requests A to lift his ball under Rule 22-2 as it might interfere with his (B's) play. This happens several times during the round. Is such procedure permissible?

A .Rule 22 is intended to cover situations where there is a reasonable possibility that one ball might assist or interfere with another ball. If the Rule is being abused, as in this case, the Committee would be justified in penalizing B for undue delay (Rule 6-7 ).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Yeah, that's kind of my point I guess... So much time is wasted by unnecessary marking of balls, but that's more off topic.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Lowest score you've seen?
      Lowest ive ever witnessed is 71 twice by me.Thats saying something considering I play in tournys with very good players.My 71s were not in tourny conditions though.
    • What would a PGA Tour player shoot at your home course?
      But because they play on courses that are considered quite difficult compared to the average home course, wouldn't their up & down % be expected to increase due to having closer misses on average - particularly with slower greens to hold approaches? The comment above is not to discount this, but only emphasize how the two go together. If you apply a fantastic long game on a shorter course on average they will have an easier time being more consistent and hitting the ball closer to the pin on average and therefore making more putts. Or do you think they would have the same expected proximity on one of our home courses as they would on the tougher tour courses and setups? I get you on the tournament prep being very different to hitting a course blind, but to some extent the OP is comparing how we play on our home courses day-in, day-out vs. the tour pros moving from place to place. How would we score visiting a course blind relative to our home course where most of the scores are posted and we are very familiar with the layout and greens. Granted pros make it a point to know this stuff with yardage books and memory. Still switching between venues and conditions rather suddenly vs. gradual changes we would tend to experience on a home course must add some difficulty. I came across a good study that analyzed all PGA tournament scores for 2007 including field average adjustments. He had the unadjusted scoring average that year as 70.704. If you figure the average course setup is ~ CR 75 and add one stroke for 'tournament conditions' (and added difficulty of Major setups) then that was about 5.3 strokes below average rating. So relative to a Course Rating (slope should not matter to a pro), and assuming a standard normal distribution, 95% of the scores should range between -6.7 and -3.9 below the rating. However, his analysis detected two interesting features, the curve (with a ton of samples) is approximately symmetric with a ~ .4 skewness. This right skew means the most frequently expected result (the mode) is actually slightly lower than the mean. So that implies that even on tour setups the lower than average scores are expected just a bit more frequently (the left tail and shoulder are slightly thicker and probability for scores lower than the mode slightly higher.). Here's an approximation of what the distribution would look like relative to strokes below the CR. In comparing courses with higher average scores (like the U.S. Open) the study found that the standard deviation of scores increased. The 'tougher test' created more of a separation between the players. Also the players whose scores tended to skew left were poorer players on average in terms of results. They averaged a relatively high score, but they could go really low sometimes. The relevance this has to the thread is that on the easier home courses that most of us tend to play, the tour players would be more bunched in their expected scores with higher probabilities around the mean of -5.3 relative to the CR and possibly more toward the low side with the left-skewing, less-consistent scorers reducing the size of the right tail and extending the left while holding the 'field average' the same. It could skew the distribution toward lower expected score (though the most frequently expected value would still be around the mode). But what would you expect as a total spread for the average scratch population? You agree that with the average population of golfers by handicap there's a decrease in score variability with increasing skill versus the average population at each handicap level having the same average scoring distribution, yes? IMO, the answer to the OP greatly depends on the CR. On my course from the tips, they'd be expected to shoot under 65 over 50% of the time. On a CR of 72, I'd expect  below 67 over 50% of the time. At Oakmont (in non-Open setup), under 73 over 50% of the time. And that would be without accounting for a possible 'going low' effect from the typically easier home course setups we face (not including Oakmont there. They would face some hazards you don't find on tour either - lost balls could be an issue for some. I'm not sure I agree that they'd expect to putt worse due to slower stimps. At the least because I would expect their proximity to the hole to increase on all shots due to the typically shorter length (shorter irons on average into each hole) along with relatively slower, softer greens.
    • What'd You Shoot Today?
      Played 9 holes today and started out pretty good (for me) w/ 5 bogies in a row, then doubled the last four. Still, not a bad round.  
    • Anyone Else Use 'Good Shots' to Measure How Good a Round Was?
      This is what I do as well.  If I play a poor round then there are a lot of these, so I don't really dwell too much, but if I played a good round, then it frequently boiled down to a couple of really good to great shots, a whole bunch of manageable ones, and a couple awful ones.  The awful ones are the ones I feel should be entirely avoidable, so those are the ones I try and recount later and assess what went wrong.
    • My Swing (PumaAttack)
      I have been working with an Evolvr coach for a while and he has not addressed those concerns at a2 and in fact called my position a perfect example and something he would show to other students.  So your instructions do not match up for me.   It is frustrating to hear you make comments like that when they don't match up with what my coach says.   I still don't get why it matters if it goes from shallow to slightly steeper on the downswing.   Look at Furyks swing, is he hitting all the key positions?  If I hit A5 to A6 why does A3 matter anymore? If Robert Rock had the same angle at 5 as he does at 3 he would miss the ball too..  What is the difference in steep to shallow?  OR shallow to steep, but still outside the ball?  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (26 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (24 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (54 years old)
  • Blog Entries