Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dmp2109

When to re-tee when to drop

7 posts in this topic

I had a argument with a friend about this just looking for a clear definition tried doing a little research just never found the answer When you it a ball OB or in a water hazard etc what determines wether you can take a drop from when it crossed or wether you re-tee and your hitting 3 from the tee box
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

You ALWAYS have the option to replay your stroke under penalty of stroke and distance. If it is not known or virtually certain that your ball is in the hazard you MUST play under stroke and distance. (Or play a provisional)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I always thought water and OB are two different things, OB is teeing up again and hitting 3 and water you are dropping in the drop zone and hitting 3.. Am I wrong on this? Anyone?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You are only required to re-tee in two instances. 1. If your shot goes outside of the course boundary (either defined by white boundary stakes or a boundary fence) & 2. If your ball is lost

If you see your ball go into a water hazard, you have the option to drop.

As Dormie indicates above, you always have the option to re-tee playing 3. But you are only required to do so in the two instances above.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I had a argument with a friend about this just looking for a clear definition tried doing a little research just never found the answer

When you it a ball OB or in a water hazard etc what determines wether you can take a drop from when it crossed or wether you re-tee and your hitting 3 from the tee box

And you can find all of the specific options here: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-01/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I had a argument with a friend about this just looking for a clear definition tried doing a little research just never found the answer

When you it a ball OB or in a water hazard etc what determines wether you can take a drop from when it crossed or wether you re-tee and your hitting 3 from the tee box

Out of Bounds : no choice but to play from where you played your last stroke with a 1 stroke penalty (Rule 27-1b).

Water hazard: as long as you know or are certain your ball is in a water hazard (yellow stakes or line)  you have the option of playing from where you played your last stroke or dropping any distance back on a line  from the hole through where the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard.  If your ball is in a lateral water hazard (red stakes or line), you have these two options plus you can drop within 2 club lengths of where the ball last crossed the margin (not nearer the hole) or 2 club lengths from the point on the other side which is the same distance from the hole.  Have a look at Rule 26-1  http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-26/

If you can't find your ball and  there is any doubt about the ball being in the hazard, you must consider it lost after a maximum of 5 minutes searching and play from where you last played a stroke. (Rule 27-1c)

I suggest you leave Rule 26-2 for the moment - it's a bit complicated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0