IGNORED

Newbie: Hybrid or Fairway Woods?

Note: This thread is 3615 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

So I have been golfing for a little over 2 months now.  When I first started out, I was atrocious.  I shot in the 170s and couldn't make it in the fairway to save my life.  Recently I just shot my best game at 125.  I am finally starting to hit the ball off a tee with a little confidence, all be it I have a pretty horrible tendency to push straight right...I still haven't had a club fitting for shaft flex or anything, but being this new I don't think that I need to worry about that yet...

The push issues are mainly with my driver, and with my 3 wood I hit it much straighter off the tee.  I can usually get it around 200-220 with roll off the tee, which is fine for shorter holes, but once I am on the fairway on a long par 4 or par 5, I really struggle hitting a decent shot with my 3 wood or 5 wood off the grass I am finding.  So I guess my question is, should I start looking at a hybrid for these situations?

Right now if it is a longer hole, I just go at it with one of my woods and hope for a clean shot, or take the shorter shot with my 5 iron.  I have more confidence with my 5 iron than I do any of my woods right now, but I know that if I connect clean with a wood, I can get to the green in 1 less shot usually.

So, in short, should I just keep practicing with my 3w/5w and get more comfortable with it off the deck, or should I be looking at hybrids for once I am off the tee box? If hybrids are something to look into, any suggestions on some good beginner clubs I should be looking out for?